Compatibility between 'real' dos and winXP's cmd-line for simple apps[solved]

Started by hungerTom, September 25, 2008, 10:09:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hungerTom

Hello!? I'm new here, quite human, and I have a slight problem.

I'm studying CS, and currently doing a course on assembly language.
My tutor being rather 'old school' thinks we should learn by writing 16bit dos assembly code for masm 6.0.  :8)
No 'real' problem there, just the fact that the computers at uni are loaded up with winXP. So our 'dos' is actually just the cmd-line that comes with 32bit XP.
He actually expects us to write our code with EDIT, in fullscreen, on 21inch screens...well anyway, I don't run MS-Windows at home, just linux. So I was using a dos emulator to do my work.
At first I tried dosemu, which sadly does not support CODEVIEW, the debugger that we need to use, so I switched to dosbox and I got my work done, so it seemed...

I went back with my completed assignments, and attempted to run them(and demonstrate them to my tutor), using window's cmd-line.
Guess what, they failed. I mean, they ran, but they produced unexpected results, or behaved oddly.
These aren't any complex tasks, just things like converting ascii-codes to hex, or decimals to hex, or reading/writing some files and things like that. Plain old INT21H stuff.

My question, are there real basic things that a 'real' dos (emulated by dosbox/dosemu) can do, which window's cmd cant?
I mean, is there some kind of guideline I can align my code against, so that it will run in the windows environment, without having to painfully debug every shift and move operation!?    

MichaelW

Hello hungerTom,