News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Using SYMDEB/MAPSYM & MASM 5.1

Started by _A_Gagne, September 07, 2008, 07:15:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

_A_Gagne

OK, first things first: I AM an experienced programmer, with years of experience with Assembly, C, Assembly LINKED with C, 32-bit protected-mode programming - well, you get the idea!

Anyways, I recently attempted  to use the SYMDEB v. 3.00 debugger with one of my MASM 5.1 programs (for the FIRST TIME, mind you! I had NEVER
tried to use SYMDEB before, as I (and everyone else) has the CodeView debugger! I always thought - who needs SYMDEB?).

Well, I have several different versions of MAPSYM (from v. 4.11 to 6.n...), and I tried to create a .SYM file from my PROPERLY ASSEMBLED program (I tried BOTH the /ZI AND the /Zd options...), produced a .MAP file, ran MAPSYM (I tried ALL of my versions), and then tried to run SYMDEB with the command:

SYMDEB [myprogramname].sym [myprogramname].exe (I believe that is the REQUIRED SYNTAX ?!)

and quickly got an ERROR MESSAGE informing me that my .SYM file was in the WRONG FORMAT, and that I needed to use MAPSYM v. 4.00 (of course,
one I DO NOT HAVE! Great...).

So. I searched the NET for TWO DAYS, and have come up with NOTHING for a MAPSYM v. 4.00!

So. my question is - Do I REALLY NEED MAPSYM v. 4.00, and, if so, where the heck can I GET IT! It is so old that I just don't think that there are many interested parties any longer!

I REALLY WANT to see how SYMDEB works with a program's SYMBOLIC INFO! Help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED! 

_A_Gagne (Andre R. Gagne, gagnea@sask :dazzled:tel.net)

BlackVortex

Well, I'm certainly not the most qualified person here when it comes to debugging with symbolic info, but maybe it's the assembler's fault. Try using masm 6.xx (for example v6.14 comes with the masm32 package)

Maybe that version will produce better/different symbol info ?

hutch--