MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

trying to load a constant address into a pointer

Started by hunt, March 11, 2008, 12:50:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hunt

Dear All,

I am new to start MASM and need a hand.

I am trying to load an address like 12FF00h into a pointer but do not know how and fail to find any helpful info from the web,

My program in C with __asm:
void * p;
__asm  mov p,    [12FF00h]    ; fail p == 12FF00h  => the same as =>  MOV p, 12FF00h, p did not point to the content of 12FF00h as I want

I have also tried with
__asm  mov eax,  [12FF00h]   ; or   __asm  mov eax  12FF00h
__asm  mov p, eax                ; the result is still the same

Thanks in advance for any tips,  :(

Hunt

hutch--

Providing that it is a valid address, load it into a register THEN dereference it to get the value AT that address.

mov eax, 12345678h  ; load the absolute address
mov eax, [eax]          ; get the value AT that address

Download site for MASM32      New MASM Forum
https://masm32.com          https://masm32.com/board/index.php

hunt

Dear All,

I finally wearing out a solution,

void *p;
__asm {
    mov  eax,  12FF00h
    mov  eax,  [eax]
    mov  p,     [eax]
    }

However, anyone can share a different idea or a better solution would still be appreciated,

Hunt

hunt

Oh Hutch,

Thank you very much, I did not see your answer before my own.
Appreciate and regards,

Hunt

MichaelW

12FF00h is an address on the stack, perhaps used in setting up a buffer overflow attack?
eschew obfuscation

zooba

Loading an arbitrary address makes no logical sense, even for creating a buffer overflow attack. The closest thing to your suggestion that will actually work is to get the address of a static/global variable. The address will be constant (ie. not based on any registers at the time of loading the address) but is guaranteed to be valid.