MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Help: Right to Left Window and Unicode Support

Started by omer_akhter, August 04, 2006, 10:20:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

omer_akhter

Hello

I am new to assembly language. Working on a project of creating an editor for my language (Urdu - Asian Language) which is written right to left. I need help in this regard.

• I need to know how would I create the application to be right to left.
  • and how would get the application to be unicode basically. Becoz I would need to switch between english and urdu

Waiting for reply

Thanks
Omer Akhter

hutch--

Hi Omer,

Welcome on board. I think what you are after can be done with a rich edit control as the support for right to left versions is built into your Windows version. It is seen in arabic, hebrew and a few other Windows versions. You will have to check the reference material but to support unicode, as long as your windows version is late enough, win2000 and later, it should support unicode so you just select the function that has a trailing "W" rather than a trailing "A" after its name and you will come close to what you want to do.

As far as switching back and forth to English and Urdu, I think you will have to have two versions of the rich edit control and display the one you require depending on the language you are going to display.

An unrelated question, from classic literature we hear the name "Omar", is it the same name as "Omer" ?
Download site for MASM32      New MASM Forum
https://masm32.com          https://masm32.com/board/index.php

omer_akhter

Hello,

Thank you very much for replying but with with W versions of functions, do we have the structures (like WNDCLASSEX) with W or they use the same version of structures. Also I have heard of declaring some constant to enable unicode at the start of program?? When used W versions of functions, my application name on title bar was changed to boxes??