News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Help Needed Please!

Started by Cuso, June 12, 2006, 09:45:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cuso

I'm new in the assembler programming. I need to create a software in assembly intel microprocessor based that define an array of 20 values byte type and calculate the average. Also need to create another software that get a value type byte of a variable and invert the values of the bits 0 & 1, convert in 1 the values oh the bits 2 & 3 and convert in 0 the values of the bits 4 & 5.

Any help will be appreciated

no-one

I bet this is a homework assignment, you better read the rules.  I just did and that is definately a no no.  Make a stab at it and show us the code and then ask specific questions and you might get help...

from no-one

Ossa

It sounds like homework (apologies if it isn't):

1) Please read the rules on homework: here

2) Some things that might be helpful (supposing that you are using MASM):

An array is created (in the .data or .data? sections) like this:

for unitialised:

.data?

MyByteArray db 20 dup (?)

or initialised (to 0):

.data

MyByteArray db 20 dup (0)

To invert certain bits, you can do something like this (for the al register):

xor al, BITMASK

where the bits in the mask should be 0 for preserved bits and 1 for inverted bits.

To set bits to 0, use and in place of xor (when a 0 is in the mask, it is set to zero - a 1 will preserve the bit). Use or when you want to set bits to 1.

Hope that helps - specific questions that don't involve us doing work for you will be more than welcome,
Ossa
Website (very old): ossa.the-wot.co.uk

Cuso

This is my code i'm beggining with the sum but i'm getting an error

title sum and average

.model small
.data
marca     db '>>>>'
array01  db  1,  3,  5,  7,  9,  11,  2,  13,  14,  21
array02  db  5,  4, 10, 23,  6,  17,  15,  21,  22,  15
arrSum   db  0,  0,  0,  0,  0,  0,  0,  0,  0,  0

.code