News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

More GetLocalTime

Started by theiod, May 01, 2006, 04:19:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

theiod

I am an assembly newbie, and am having troubles getting my time formatted. As it stands now it keeps crashing somewhere inside my procedure to convert the time. Ollydebug hasn't helped. I'm working on getting the visual studio debugger to work now.

If any one can help me get the date and time formatted in this way I'd really appreciate the help.
I'm trying to use GetLocalTime to output the date and time in this format:

Sun, Apr 30, 2006
09:16:14 PM

I appreciate your help and time.

Thanks in advance.

Extreme Newbie

asmGhost

Ossa

Here's a simple console example. It uses the date formats that you specified... note that I added CRLFs to the format string - if this is for a windows app, you will more than likely want to remove that. This will probably be what you want (instead of what I have):

szDFormat               db              "ddd',' MMM dd',' yyyy", 0
szTFormat               db              "hh':'mm':'ss tt", 0

If you have code already written, it might help to post it (just the relevent bits), as people can then give advice more suited to your problem.

Hope it helps,
Ossa

(As asmGhost pointed out, the reference will give details on how to modify this to do exactly what you like.)

; Include, etc

.model FLAT, STDCALL
option casemap:none

include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
include \masm32\include\masm32.inc

includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\masm32.lib

; String lengths

MAX_DATE_LEN            EQU             20
MAX_TIME_LEN            EQU             15

; Format strings

.data

szDFormat               db              "ddd',' MMM dd',' yyyy'", 0Dh, 0Ah, "'", 0
szTFormat               db              "hh':'mm':'ss tt'", 0Dh, 0Ah, "'", 0

; Run time data

.data?