News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

IR control

Started by firehawk, February 25, 2006, 03:42:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

firehawk

Hi. I am new here. I hope someone is able to help me in my mission. I apologise if this is the wrong forum to post but its my best shot!

I am new to assembly, I have always wanted to learn it as I am a very deep down technical core type of guy - I have only done Assembly in College. I however program in other languages such as .NET.

What I am trying to do is I am trying to use RAW/serial IR on a mobile device. Now, after extensive programming and research - I found out that this certain type of mobile device (or the range of them) unfortunatly does not support RAW IR. it has IRDA.

The issue is with the driver I believe as the hardware manufacturer of the phones (who are really not great) did not implement support for RAW IR.

I have been developing firstly in .NET 2.0 for access to serial port however it throws me an error. (simple write "hi").

I went low level/native code to have direct access to COM port using:

CreateFile()
WriteFile()
CloseFile()

and so on - I still get errors reported back from the OS. After banging my head on the wall, and with some of my colleagues - found out that it appears to maybe be a driver issue.

Apperently pocket PC's have RAW IR support as with a smartphone, it does not. It kinda sucks.

I then thought ok, well how about if we go for assembly? make some driver/connection to have access to RAW IR (COM3 I believe) from which I can call from a higher language.

Of course this is NOT the ideal way but its better than nothing.

I am wondering - am I completely wrong in this way? Can anyone help me understand where the problem is - if I am right/wrong?

Much appreciated for your VALUED input :)

PBrennick