MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

String Pointer Problem

Started by suma, January 06, 2005, 07:57:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

suma

Hey there...

I am new to the asm language, and i have run into a problem involving string pointers. Any help would be much appreciated!

The code i am writing is just simple code which will show a message box. However i dont want to use masm's invoke, but rather i am doing it the old skool way.

push 0
push 0
push 0
push 0
call MessageBox

The problem appears when i try to replace the middle two parameters with actual strings. I have tried:

>> putting the string as a constant i.e.
                push "hkia"

>> putting the name of the string variable, in the hope it will translate to the base address of the string array i.e.
                byte hk "hkia"
                push hk

>> getting a pointer to the string variable and pushing this... i have tried with both near ptr byte and far ptr byte. Both will not compile - i think i may be doing something wrong.
                byte hk "hkia"
                npb typedef near ptr byte
                fpb typedef far ptr byte

np npb hk
                fp fpb hk

push np
                push fp

Nothing seems to work... i suspect it may be because the stack needs word values, not byte values, but i thought the compiler took care of that....    :(

Thanks in advance,
Suma

Petroizki

hello,

You don't need to push the string itself to the stack, only the address of the string.

.data
STRING_A db "Hello World!",0
.code
push MB_OK
push OFFSET STRING_A
push OFFSET STRING_A
push 0
call MessageBox

suma

ok ok that's cool...  :clap:

Just as a matter of interest, is OFFSET the main used directive for MASM, or are there other keywords which do pretty much the same thing?