MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Keyboard hook

Started by szgabor, November 05, 2005, 06:35:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

szgabor

Hi all!
I made a "driver" app for multimedia keyboards in Delphi. However, the standard keyboard hook provided by Windows is not good for this purpose, because it does not work when there is no (standard) window in focus (this is the case with most of the games and this also causes a major bug). According my current knowledge, I need to write a KMD to circumvent this limitation. And I need to work in MASM if I don't want to buy the Microsoft DDKs.
Unfortunately I have no deep knowledge of drivers, nor of ASM programming. I also know this is a very hard topic of programming... So if anyone could help putting this one thing together... The KMD I need has to send all keystrokes to my app, and cancel out certain ones according to a list that my app would supply.
Important: currently I have NO internet at home, so don't expect quick replies! Dump info here and I'll read when I have acces to internet again.
Many thanks in advance!!! Anyone who helps will receive dedicated copies of my app!!!

sluggy

Don't take this as being rude, but we typically don't assist brand new members with writing kernel mode drivers or keyboard hooks when they have no knowledge in that area, simply because 99.9% of those users are up to no good. It sounds harsh, but i hope you understand.

However, you could be in the 0.1% who are legitimately looking for information, so i will point you to this web page, it contains some KMD tutorials, and a copy of the Iczelion tutorials, all of which will help you.

If you are in that 0.1%, then good luck with your research  :P

Retsim_X

im with sluggy.