News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Linking a MS VC++ 6.0 built library to MASM32 project

Started by mkey, January 04, 2012, 01:20:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mkey

First of all, thanks for your time investment into reading this garble of mine.

I took the time to consider the right section for this topic, this may or may not be the right place. I also took the time to search instead of taking time to sleep and what is dawning on me is - there are some major misconceptions regarding this matter in my head. I'm not a newbie at MASM, been at it for years now, but I can be a full fledged idiot at times.

Anyway, like the topic title says, I'm trying to use a library written in c (it's the opensource cyassl project) compiled with VC++ 6.0 in my MASM32 project. Basically, this proggie of mine would like to connect via sockets wrapped in ssl to gmail pop3 servers and establish communication.

So, I took the .c and .h files from the cyassl package and placed them into a newly created VC++ 6.0 (library) project. Went into project properties and changed the calling convention to stdcall, the same what is used in my MASM project. The library compiles with no problems. I got the cyassl.lib file and placed it into my MASM project, referenced it with the includelib directive.

This bit of code prototypes the functions I need from the library

SSLv3_client_method PROTO
SSL_CTX_new PROTO method:DWORD
SSL_new PROTO ctx:DWORD
SSL_set_fd PROTO ssl:DWORD,sock:DWORD
SSL_connect PROTO ssl:DWORD
SSL_get_cipher PROTO ssl:DWORD
SSL_write PROTO ssl:DWORD,pReq:DWORD,sizeReq:DWORD
SSL_read PROTO ssl:DWORD,pBuf:DWORD,sizeBuf:DWORD
SSL_shutdown PROTO ssl:DWORD
SSL_free PROTO ssl:DWORD
SSL_CTX_free PROTO ctx:DWORD
SSL_load_error_strings PROTO
SSL_library_init PROTO

Once I build my MASM project I get these (I guess you can guess what follows :bg)