News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Of Mice and Messages

Started by NoCforMe, October 04, 2011, 07:36:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NoCforMe

OK, rookie conceptual questions here. I hope you'll be kind to this n00b.

So say a guy wants to create a simple window, with a very small window inside it, just for proof-of-concept purposes. The parent window will create the "client area", within which the small window is free to move. The idea is to be able to drag the small window around inside the parent, like placing an object with a drawing program, say.

OK, so far so good. I've created the parent and the child(*) windows. I started playing around with intercepting mouse-move and button messages. But I'm very confused about a basic point that I need to get cleared up before I go further.

I tried making the child window the message-interceptor, using RegisterClassEx() to set up a message-handling procedure (let's call it "ChildProc"). On left-button-down messages, I checked for signs of dragging, using DragDetect(), at which point I captured the mouse with SetCapture(). After this, I watched for WM_MOUSEMOVE messages, thinking I could use them to actually move my window around.

Let me back this up to a more conceptual level. I'm confused about who should handle what in this situation.

Because I'm looking at mouse coordinates from the child's point of view, (0, 0) is at the upper-left of the child window, correct? But I want to move this window within the client area (=parent window). So should I be looking for mouse moves within the parent instead of the child?

Using pseudocode:

[ParentProc]
case WM_MOUSEMOVE:
if (DragFlag)
- move child window to (mouseX, mouseY)

case WM_LBUTTONUP:
- DragFlag = FALSE
- ReleaseCapture()

[ChildProc]
case WM_LBUTTONDOWN:
- if (DragDetect())
- DragFlag = TRUE
- SetCapture()

case WM_LBUTTONUP:
- DragFlag = FALSE
- ReleaseCapture()