News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Help to understand this code

Started by alzabadani, October 31, 2010, 08:10:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alzabadani

Please help me to know how is this code work  .. I am a beginner and it is critical to know what this code does.

thank a lot

TITLE change the case of letters procedure
.MODEL SMALL
.STACK 64
.DATA
BUFFER DB 40h,00h,40 DUP(?) ;buffer for storing the string
.CODE 
MOV AX,@DATA
MOV DS,AX
MOV DX, OFFSET BUFFER ; at most 40h characters typed in
MOV AH,0Ah
INT 21h
MOV CH,00
MOV BX,DX
MOV CL,[BX+1]
MOV [BX],word ptr 0D0Ah
INC BX
INC BX
21- AGAIN: MOV AL,[BX]
CMP AL,61h
JB NEXT
CMP AL,7Ah
JA NEXT
SUB AL,20h
JMP NEXT1
NEXT: CMP AL,41h
JB NEXT1
CMP AL,5Ah
JA NEXT1
ADD AL,20h
NEXT1: MOV [BX], AL
INC BX
LOOP AGAIN
MOV [BX], BYTE PTR 24h
MOV AH,09h
MOV DX, offset BUFFER
INT 21h
MOV AH,4Ch ; int 21 function number 4Ch
INT 21h ; return to DOS
END

jj2007

Posting twice doesn't help.

Now a serious suggestion: Since this is your first contact to the Masm32 Forum, why don't you introduce yourself, explain what you are doing, and especially where you got this snippet, and what you intend to do it with it?

dedndave

Quote21- AGAIN: MOV AL,[BX]
must be a typo   :P

alzabadani

I am a studient in ISE (information System Engineering) in third year .. I have got a subject called (MicroProcessor) about 8086/8088 comands, I found this code in our last questions (Exam) and want to understand the code.

hope to help me

Tx

dedndave

If you intend to continue writing 16-bit programs, I suggest you download Ralf Brown's Interrupt List:

http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~ralf/files.html

The list is organized in 6 ZIP files (inter61a.zip-inter61f.zip). This is the most complete list of interrupts available.
Most of the information you will need is in the first 2 ZIP files (inter61a.zip and inter61b.zip).