MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

using ld linker under windows

Started by Emil_halim, October 20, 2010, 09:25:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Emil_halim

Hi all

I am still learning hla with HIDE under windows , i came from mingw c++ , made a graphic  library that rely on some .a libs .
so that i want to use hla with ld linker under windows inside HIDE .

but there is no option  in HIDE for made that job.

any help please?

Sevag.K

sorry, HIDE is hardcoded to use pelle's polink.  i have no plans at this time to support other linkers.
if you can coax mingw to build a coff object or lib of your graphic library, you'll be able to import it in with HIDE.

if not, you'll have to use HLA on the command line or with a more customizable ide.  even then, i don't know if the windows version of hla allows for linking with .a objects.  can ld combine .a and coff objects together?

Emil_halim

oK Sevag.K

no problem, i can make  a bat file that compile hla and link with ld linker. but how can i for HIDE to use that bat for compiling each unit of our project and job?

btw: your HIDE is so easy and i liked it very much.

i want recoding my graphics library with hla and mingw c++ , here is the link of my library link http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=25924

thanks

Emil

Sevag.K

thanks!

you have two options.

the manual way is to use the menu Tools-> Run Program
this will open a dialog that gives you a command line for launching programs/batch files.
but you have to do it all the time.

if you want to automate it, you can use a kMake script job.
go to menu Project -> Jobs Manager
for every job you want to build using your script instead of default HIDE settings, click on the job and click on the "Hold" button.  this will remove the job from the build queue.