New to assembly programming, looking for a place to start

Started by Jamey, April 09, 2010, 02:38:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamey

Hi all, i'm just taking a dive into assembly language programming and i've found it hard to find a learning resource that suites my needs. I'm an experienced programmer studying Computer Science, so i know my way around a CPU, the maths behind assembly and the key concepts behind high-level language programming. I've even encountered theoretical/pseudo assembly during my studies. My problem is that it seems hard to find a resource which teaches the key practical concepts behind assembly language programming. All the tutorials, help files, manuals, etc. that i've looked at take a huge leap from a Hello world app which outputs to the console or using MessageBoxA to full-blown windows apps, with window classes, etc. There doesn't seem to be much of a middle ground. I was wondering if anyone could suggest a resource which does go through key practical use of assembly?

Sorry i might not be explaining this well but basically; when learning other languages (for example Java) i've gone through the process of: Writing a Hello World app to determine the structure and syntax of the language, then i've gone through writing console programs like; taking basic input and regurgitating it, adding a couple numbers and outputting their total, file i/o, etc. (Using the console to work out a way of doing things in the language) Then somewhere in the future after i'd grasped the basics i've moved on to GUI programming and so-on. It seems like the natural progression for most languages and most books/tutorial series' teach in this way. However as i've said above in all the resources i've looked at things have gone from "hello world" to some really long applications, completely missing console programming out.