MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

PC Interfacing kit + book

Started by fifo_thekid, November 05, 2008, 03:20:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fifo_thekid

Hi everybody
I'm a computer engineering undergraduate
I've a very good knowledge in x86 assembler language, C++, VB, and many other languages
I've done very little amateur hardware interfacing, using QBasic, a parallel port cable, and LEDs
Now, I want to start simple industrial interfacing (e.g. connecting a machine to a computer so that u can turn it on an off from the computer..)
My worst side is the hardware side, since I'm so scared about making short circuits and loose connections

What I want, is book + code + hardware kit that I can use for learning on Windows XP platform
Preferably, they should contain relays and a non-hobbyist hardware interfacing card...

Help is appreciated :bg

Mark Jones

Hello, it is a little unclear exactly what you are looking to do. But here are two official "starter kit" products from reputable microncontroller manufacturers:

http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=81  and
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/tools.asp?family_id=607#1443

These do NOT come with step-by-step instruction manuals, however the vendors do supply comprehensive datasheets and application notes. If considering one of these, I would strongly advise to start with the smallest 8-bit chips possible due to their complexity. I take it that the computer engineering degree includes some electronics training? That will definitely be needed, but for the most part the "kits" are self-contained. But if you really want to interface the PC to something intelligent, then this may be a way to go. Some chips have built-in USB capability, and many include application notes describing how to interface them to serial and parallel ports.

Take a look around, is that what you are after?
"To deny our impulses... foolish; to revel in them, chaos." MCJ 2003.08

fifo_thekid