MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Just wondering if this is something for me or not

Started by Sorex, March 29, 2008, 11:03:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sorex

Hello,

Not sure if this belongs here so feel free to move it to the appropriate forums

I just signed up here after getting informed about MASM & Win32ASM being able to create Windows application which are still speedy and small in size.

My roots are several basics, Z80, 6502/65c02 ASM, 8086ASM, 80386ASM mainly from the mid 80s-a few years ago,
unfortunatly these days it's mainly vbscript that I use in my job (you know.. the ADSI and other client/server based stuff to install/fix things)

So I'm wondering if it's worth all the effort as it will take ages to get something done in ASM or does it contain that much libs that it will make things easier?

I guess my background is ok to start but I got a bit overwelmed after seeing some sources (all those invokes etc)

btw, any Belgians around here (or others) who are willing to help me through IRC/messenger or something when I'm stuck?  :wink

MichaelW

Hello Sorex, welcome to the forum.

With your background I think you should have few problems. Assuming you are willing to use macros, the MASM high-level syntax, and library procedures, the amount of time required to code in MASM is not that much greater than the time required to do equivalent code in a high-level language. In some cases it's possible to code complete (small) applications without using more than a few instruction mnemonics (if you don't mind a few sneers from the ASM purists :lol).
eschew obfuscation

hutch--

Sorex,