Started by frisch, March 02, 2007, 05:57:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frisch

Hello,

I'm trying to create a .drectve section. The obvious solution:

.drectve      SEGMENT DWORD USE32 PUBLIC
              BYTE 0,0,0,0
.drectve      ENDS

does not work because .drectve is not a valid symbol name.

How can I do it?

Apologies if the question is too basic for this forum. I'm new to MASM...

-- Alain

Vortex

Hello Alain,

Welcome on board. Your question is a good one, please feel free to post here all your questions concerning asm.
The .drectve section is created in object files :

.model flat, stdcall
option casemap:none
include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib

.data
MsgCaption      db "Iczelion's tutorial no.2",0
MsgBoxText      db "Win32 Assembly is Great!",0

.code
start:
invoke MessageBox, NULL,addr MsgBoxText, addr MsgCaption, MB_OK
invoke ExitProcess,NULL
end start

\masm32\bin\ml /c /coff msgbox.asm
\masm32\bin\dumpbin /ALL msgbox.obj

SECTION HEADER #4
.drectve name
      9B physical address
       0 virtual address
      55 size of raw data
     177 file pointer to raw data
       0 file pointer to relocation table
       0 file pointer to line numbers
       0 number of relocations
       0 number of line numbers
     A00 flags
         Info
         Remove
         (no align specified)

RAW DATA #4
  00000000: 2D 64 65 66 61 75 6C 74 6C 69 62 3A 5C 6D 61 73  -defaultlib:\mas
  00000010: 6D 33 32 5C 6C 69 62 5C 75 73 65 72 33 32 2E 6C  m32\lib\user32.l
  00000020: 69 62 20 2D 64 65 66 61 75 6C 74 6C 69 62 3A 5C  ib -defaultlib:\
  00000030: 6D 61 73 6D 33 32 5C 6C 69 62 5C 6B 65 72 6E 65  masm32\lib\kerne
  00000040: 6C 33 32 2E 6C 69 62 20 2D 65 6E 74 72 79 3A 73  l32.lib -entry:s
  00000050: 74 61 72 74 20                                   tart

Linker Directives
   -----------------