MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Need example/tutorial on outputing to text file

Started by jimeeg, October 18, 2006, 07:32:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimeeg

Please be nice i am new to asm.

i have searched here and the all mighty google and i can't find a SIMPLE example or tutorial on how to output to a txt file or doc.  i know, i should know how to do this - i do in C, java, ada ... but for some reason i can't find an explanation i understand.
thx

P1

jimeeg,

Nothing fancy, just a basic output to error file routine.  You will need to create your own working variables for this snipet to work.

Regards,  P1  :8)

mov Timeout,100 ;Makes 20 seconds / 100 trys before aborting file write.
ReTryWrite:
invoke CreateFile,
       ADDR szEPathFileName,
       GENERIC_WRITE,
       NULL,
       OPEN_ALWAYS,
       FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL,
       NULL
.if eax == INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE
    invoke Sleep,200   ; .2 seconds for a retry.
    dec Timeout
    jz @F   ;OK, so just give up.
    jmp ReTryWrite
.else
    mov hErrorFile, eax
.endif

;invoke MessageBox,0,ADDR szErrorMessage,ADDR szMsgTitle,MB_OK
invoke SetFilePointer, hErrorFile, 0, NULL, FILE_END
invoke lstrlen, ADDR szErrorMessage
mov dwLength,eax
invoke WriteFile, hErrorFile, ADDR szErrorMessage, dwLength, ADDR dwErrorBW, NULL
invoke SetEndOfFile, hErrorFile
invoke CloseHandle, hErrorFile
@@:

jimeeg

okay, i "borrowed" some sample code and now have this:

call GetTickCount   
    mov ecx, eax               
    add ecx, eax               
    mov edx, eax               
    add edx, ecx
    sub edx, eax 
    add eax, edx               
    print str$(eax)             
    print chr$(13,10,13,10)

invoke CreateFile, ADDR Filename,GENERIC_WRITE,NULL,
                NULL,OPEN_ALWAYS,FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL,NULL

mov hFile, eax

invoke SetFilePointer,hFile,0,0,FILE_END
    invoke WriteFile, hFile,ADDR hFile,LENGTHOF hFile,ADDR pWritten,NULL