News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Convert something to a string

Started by Telefunken, July 22, 2006, 05:45:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Telefunken

I realize i ask a lot of questions on this forum... and i feel like a total noob  :red hehheh

Is there a way to convert something into a string. For instance, if I wanted to turn EAX into a string so i could save it's value to a file?

Ian_B

Explain "string"...  :bdg  A string can be anything you want it to mean. Any arbitrary series of bytes can be a "string", so any value in EAX is a string that can be written/saved. Do you mean a null-terminated and readable series of ASCII characters?

If you just want to save a value to a file, you don't NEED to convert it to anything, just save the byte sequence. You just need to know what that byte sequence at that offset in the file represents if you retrieve it later. If you want to convert a numerical value to a human-readable ASCII representation in a file, then there are functions to do that - check the MASM library and the Laboratory forum here for discussion about such things - you're probably looking for such things as DWtoA (DWORD to ASCII).

Be aware that writing an ASCII representation to a file means that if you want to re-load it later, you'll have to reparse it from ASCII back into a number. If you don't really need it to be human-readable, then it's much quicker not to bother and just save the values direct. You just have to know exactly what the length of your records are, what format you saved the data in and what order. Which method is safer is debatable. Which is quicker isn't...  :bg

Ian_B

Telefunken

Yes, that is exactly what i meant, thank you.  :U

Maybe I can be more specific with my question.

If i try this...
Quoteinvoke SendDlgItemMessage,hWin,1002,HKM_GETHOTKEY,0,0
            movzx ecx, al
            movzx edx, ah