MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

problem with ax

Started by lynx.arc, April 16, 2006, 12:35:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lynx.arc

hi everyone;
i am new to assembly/vga programming. when i try to run this code, it does not switch to mode 13h. i found seperate solutions to get it to mode 13h:

- skipping the .386 directive
- replace  "mov   ax, 13h" with "mov   eax, 13h"
- replace  "mov   ax, 13h" with "mov   al, 13h ; mov ah, 0"

one of these are enough to get the program to mode 13h. but the question is: why? why does "mov   ax, 13h" not work?

and another question: if i skip the .386 directive, will i get the timings for 8086?

.model small, stdcall

.stack
.data   
.data?

.code

start:

mov       ax, 13h ; change screen to 320x200x256 (13h)
int 10h

mov ah, 01h                 ; wait until a key is pressed
        int 21h

mov ax, 03h ; return to text mode
int 10h

mov ah,4Ch ; exit
int 21h

end start

MichaelW

The problem is not with AX, but with the position of the .386 processor directive. The solution to the problem is to place the .386 processor directive after the model directive.

The long explanation is: