MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

encode /decode lzss

Started by Ar-ras, April 02, 2006, 11:39:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ar-ras

Hello

I wanted to write a server. winsock and stúff are working perfectly
Then I thought, It would be great to write a subroutine, for compressing and decompressing files
I found http://www.programmersheaven.com/zone5/cat858/2204.htm which is a great lzss packer/unpacker
it packs better then other lzss programms
I wanted to port the source to masm32 so that I can just call a procedure which just needs the source and the target file

The Problem is that this is a very hard understandable source code and i am not a professional

Can you help to translate the sourcecode?
Do you have other compress/decompress algos ready?(full masm32 source)
Please Help me with my little problem

thnx
Ar-ras

Mark Jones

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Curious, are you aware of how old the code is that you linked to? Most of the files are date-stamped 1986... :eek

If you don't require LZss encoding, included with MASM32 is the APLib library which is a LZ77 algorithm. This is a very nice library for compressing and decompressing data of any length (and it's 32-bits, not DOS 16-bits code.)

APLib can be found in \MASM32\examples\exampl03\appack. Study the appack.asm file for an example of its use. Have fun! :bg
"To deny our impulses... foolish; to revel in them, chaos." MCJ 2003.08

Ar-ras

hehehe
I know
The source is older then me :D

I used tried appack from the example folder with a screenshot of my screen (~3,90 mb "random" data)
with appack it is about 150 kb big
but with the lzss it is just approx 50 kb big

So the lzss is better then appack... :D
Thats the problem...
If appack would be just 10 kb bigger it would be no problem but 100 kb is a "feature"

I look now again the appack routine ,maybe it has a compression level setting...

edit:
strange
now it is the opposite
appack is now better rofl