News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

microprocessor overview

Started by t48605, March 01, 2006, 01:16:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

t48605

Hi I ' m newbie here an new to Assembly ! I know people here have much experience about it , so you also have much knowledge about microprocessor , I ' m making friend with it but like in the mess between many terms such as segments, index registers , offset registers ,  etc ... , so could you give me some easy-to-understand explaination about components of it ??? (maybe it takes many words )
Thanks ! :red

cman

That might take quite a few words! :bg You might check out a book on computer architecture. I bought a great book on ebay called Computer Architecture A Quantitative Appoach by Hennessy and Patterson for just a few dollars. You might want to try to do something like that or find a good tutorial somewhere. Good luck! :U

Mark Jones

Hi t48605, you could try the emu8086 emulator. It can teach you how to make basic DOS apps and exactly what segments, registers, interrupts are, etcetera. Windows assembly is a little different (some say easier) but emu8086 would make for a nice start. For windows assembly, I'd recommend reading the ASMINTRO.HLP file which comes with MASM32, then go through all the Iczelion tutorials. :)
"To deny our impulses... foolish; to revel in them, chaos." MCJ 2003.08

BogdanOntanu

Honestly it might help if you study a much simpler CPU first (i sugest 8bit Z80). Current CPU have evolved from such machines. They have evolved a lot and suffer a lot of changes but the main principles remain the same. Starting with the very complex ones might make you abort.

So let us talk about a hypothetical simple CPU just to make you understand a few points:
(pease let me know if you feel like talking about the latest P4/AMD64 beasts)

The CPU is an integrated circuit. It has some internal logic (we will see what kind later on)