MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Save bits/bytes as text file

Started by vikernes, February 24, 2006, 10:37:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vikernes

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Assembly but I'm trying to learn how to open a file (in binary mode) and save it's bits or bytes as text in a text file.

Can anyone help me out, provide some examples or point me in the right direction?

I'm trying to learn MASM.

Tedd

Files are always opened in binary mode. The way you get 'text mode' is just from the programs you use which decide to do special things with certain bytes (tabs, spaces, newlines, etc) and possibly complain if they find anything that isn't considered 'normal' text.
Anyway..

Once you've learned to do a simple windows app (if not, go away, learn, and come back :wink) opening a file is as simple as using the CreateFile function with appropriate parameters (filename and a few others.)
The you use ReadFile to read some or all of its contents.
And the you CloseHandle to close the file and clean up like a good little progrmmer :bg

Writing to file is almost exactly the same, expect that you don't ReadFile, you WriteFile. Simple, eh?

So the only thing in between is to converting the file contents to text (a hex dump?)

Shout again for further help :wink
(But it helps if you've actually tried to do something first, so we can help you fix that, rather than writing the whole thing for you - in which case you should just download an appropriate tool instead.)
No snowflake in an avalanche feels responsible.

donkey

Quote from: vikernes on February 24, 2006, 10:37:44 AM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Assembly but I'm trying to learn how to open a file (in binary mode) and save it's bits or bytes as text in a text file.

Can anyone help me out, provide some examples or point me in the right direction?

I'm trying to learn MASM.

Hi vikernes,

First off welcome to assembler !