News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Where to start?

Started by MickD, January 06, 2006, 12:34:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MickD

Hi All, first post here and if it needs moving to a more appropriate forum, please do.

Just wondering where to start learning assembly, I have started reading AoA (hla version) and was wondering if it's a bit too 'high level' after looking at other forms of assembly code?
I've been toying around with the C languages for a few years (weekend style ;) ) and I would really like to learn a bit more about the lower level stuff.
You see, I have this compulsive problem where I need to know how things tick and after destroying many objects in the past to see how they work,  pc's and software are my latest targets  :toothy

I know there is a plethora of info out there but a little guidence on what to read and learn would be greatly appreciated.
TIA
Mick.

raymond

AoA is a very good starting point if you concentrate first on learning the very basics of assembly, such as the use of registers and access to memory. Then study some of the basic instructions as to their specific requirements for source data, the destination of the result and the effect on flags (you may be using those flags quite often).

As you become more familiar with the above, learn how to use a debugger (such as Ollydbg) and step through short simple programs (even assembled with HLA) to visualize the process. Someone will always be willing to help if you get stuck (and show that you are making an effort to learn).

Like anything new, you have to learn how to crawl on all fours first before you can walk, and you can learn how to run only after you can walk on your own. (Flying is for the birds :lol :lol :lol)

Wish you the best

Raymond
When you assume something, you risk being wrong half the time
http://www.ray.masmcode.com

MickD

Thankyou Raymond, and I am crawling don't worry :)