News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Exponential .. Help if possible

Started by gusto, October 08, 2005, 05:38:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gusto

I started taking a class this semester dealing with Assembler, I am completely new to this language, and my prof. is not very helpful. He himself said he hasnt used the language in a long time, and he started giving assignments telling us to hand in the results, but we have to figure out how to do everything on our own. He gave us one example on how to add and mov values, and ive been working off of that. My current project is to list 9^0 to 9^11 (exponentials 12 terms total).. 1, 9, 81, etc.by using addition only.. the code i am using is bellow..it lists 12 numbers but not the ones i need  :(  any sort of help in what i should do would be very appreciated.. if either editing what i have, or going about it a different way (this is the only model i have on how to write code in assembler, so any other route would be totally new to me).

-------------------------------

include \masm615\include\irvine16.inc

.data
x      dword      0
y      dword      9

.code
      main      proc
      startup
      mov      ecx,12

lp:      mov      eax,x
      add      y,eax
      mov      eax,y
      mov      eax,x
      call      writedec
      call      crlf
      add      x,9
      loop      lp

exit
main      endp
      end      main

--------------------------------------

the list i get in Dos is...

---------

if you can help, thank you...

-gus

p.s. im not looking for anyone to write me out a code that will give me the solution, im trying to figure if im going about it the right way, if im totally off and what commands or whats even going on.... thanks  :(

MichaelW

Welcome to the forum.

90 = 1
91 = 9
92 = 81 = 9*9
93 = 729 = 9*9*9

You could do the calculation using only addition, but using multiplication would be much easier.