News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Assembly Programming Newbie (a few questions)

Started by luke89, December 17, 2011, 06:56:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

luke89

Hi,

I have zero programming experience but I have a book called "Programming from the Ground Up" from which I'll start learning in the New Year. 

My questions are:

1) What are the first things I need to do to get started?  I run a ubuntu operating system and the book I mentioned teaches assembly for x86 processors.

2) Why do they say that once you learn assembly you'll never want to use another programming language again?

That's all for now.  Thank you!

bomz

for good book sales

asm rarely first language. all belong from the base knowledge

Quoteasm need two components knowledge: 'algorithmic language' + computer & system architecture. so usually begin from first with high-level language and long going through second.

hutch--

Luke,

Assembler language is not a good choice as a learners language, it is better suited to experienced programmers who have a good grounding in programming logic, direct memory addressing and computer hardware. As a first language learning a basic compiler is useful, a bit more advanced is to learn a C compiler later and when you have enough experience you an come back to assembler language where you see it will be useful.
Download site for MASM32      New MASM Forum
https://masm32.com          https://masm32.com/board/index.php

bomz

Find school schedule for your country (our may be some best private school) - it's show you start.

What your asm book name?

donkey

Hi Luke89,

Welcome to the forum, if you want to learn assembly language I hope you've budgeted heavily for headache medication, you're going to need it.