News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Help with Path in Windows 7

Started by jbplaya, June 26, 2011, 03:46:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbplaya

Hey, newbie here to MASM32 (have had experience in NASM and GAS AT&T) and I for the life of me can't get any commands going on in MASM32 in the console. Every command I type is "'     ' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file." I can't even get a simple debug command to work. I'm fairly experienced in Macs and Linux and a complete Newb to Windows 7 platform. I did some research online and I'm pretty sure there might be something wrong with my Path. My Path is :

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared

Does that look about right, or am I missing any directories. An answer sure would be appreciated. Thanks

dedndave

locate the cmd.exe file and make sure that folder is in the path
i use XP, and it is in C:\Windows\System32
i see that folder is in your path as %SystemRoot%\system32
make sure the SystemRoot environment variable is also set   :P

keep in mind that 16-bit programs will not run under windows 7 without some work-arounds

welcome to the forum   :U

EDIT
as a little speed-up, i would move the windows live folders to the end of the path variable

jj2007

Hi,

First of all: Welcome to the Forum :thumbu

Dave is a real expert here, but his advice might be a little overkill.

The Masm32 installation does not require any environment variables. Just follow the steps in the link of my signature to install the package, then use QEditor or RichMasm or even Notepad to write your first snippet, and off it goes.