MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

mov eax,4

Started by Napsteren, November 22, 2010, 08:25:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Napsteren

Hello MASM

I'm new in this assembly world, and right now I'm just learning how to program in the language. I just need to know 1 simple thing, here we go.

mov eax, 4

Why the value 4?

Best regards,

Napsteren

oex

:lol That's a tough one.... do you have any context to your problem?
We are all of us insane, just to varying degrees and intelligently balanced through networking

http://www.hereford.tv

Napsteren

SECTION .data         ; Section containing initialised data

EatMsg: db "Eat at Joe's!",10

EatLen: equ $-EatMsg   

SECTION .bss         ; Section containing uninitialized data   

SECTION .text         ; Section containing code

_start         ; Linker needs this to find the entry point!

_start:

nop         ; This no-op keeps gdb happy...

mov eax,4      ; Specify sys_write call

mov ebx,1      ; Specify File Descriptor 1: Standard Output

mov ecx,EatMsg      ; Pass offset of the message

mov edx,EatLen      ; Pass the length of the message

int 80H         ; Make kernel call

MOV eax,1      ; Code for Exit Syscall

mov ebx,0      ; Return a code of zero   

int 80H         ; Make kernel call

I just need to know why it needs to be 4, or 1?

It would be nice if you would tell me all the "why" quetions in this code :p Like why ( ,10 "line 2 )

redskull

It's an argument to specifiy which function is performed by the INT.  Though what you are doing looks like Linux, not Windows.

-r
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government

Gunther

Quote from: redskull, November 22, 2010, at 08:39:18 PMThough what you are doing looks like Linux, not Windows.

Exactly.

Quote from: Napsteren, November 22, 2010, 08:25:32 PMWhy the value 4?