How do I Create my own thread handler

Started by www.:).com, November 05, 2010, 07:53:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

www.:).com

I am looking for a way to create a simple duel thread handler in 16-bit dos. I would like if someone could give me some code(with comments please, but without is ok to) for it that I can mess with. The main problem I am having is getting my thread handler to jump to a instruction then jump back to the handler. I use ml.exe and link16.exe to create my program and I use Dosbox to run the programs and I am only a beginner in masm, if it helps.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks :bg.

redskull

The normal method is to replace the IP saved on the stack during the call to the handler with the saved IP of the other thread, and then "returning" (a misnomer, because it will return to an entirely different thread).  FWIT you are in way over your head trying to do this, especially in DOS.

-r
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government

Maybe so but, I'd still like to do it, thanks for your input.

The problem is that getting it to call back o he handler. I was thinking that if I found out how instructions are sored in memory i could set aside a section in memory then go to a thread, get the next instruction, store it in memory and directly after put "jmp (thread handler address here)" to get it to call back. After i would do this for the next thread then loop.  :dazzled:

Would this work?
-If this would I don't have enough knowledge to do it and please help.

Sorry for my last post my "t" key is broken on my keyboard and i keep forgetting to use a virtual keyboard. So If A word doesn't sound right like "o" or "he" it is most likely "to" or "the".

redskull

You can't just copy the instructions, for many reasons.  First and foremost, if it's a JMP instruction, then it will do just that, and never return.  Also, memory addressess will be all wrong.