MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

True DOS program help, please?

Started by KrisB, April 25, 2005, 02:30:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KrisB

Greetings,

I am a newbie and I have been struggling with a 16 bit DOS program that I have been requested to create.

This small program simply needs to read a database or a csv after the user inputs a zipcode. From this there will need to be two variables which will include the current time zone and whether or not they use daylight savings time.

I have not done any work with True DOS previous to this (unless you count high school 20 years ago) and I have searched the web for 4 days and even visited bookstores to see if I could find any information that would at least point me in the right direction. I have been utterly unsuccessful.  :(

Any help I could get would be greatly appreciated. I'm at the end of my rope. :'(

Thanks in advance,
Kris

MichaelW

This seems like a task that would best be done in a high-level language.
eschew obfuscation

Tedd

What exactly are you having trouble with - the method? or the madness (coding :wink)??
No snowflake in an avalanche feels responsible.

KrisB

Quote from: MichaelW on April 26, 2005, 05:31:40 AM
This seems like a task that would best be done in a high-level language.

*grin*
Yes, I can do it easily in C# or VB.NET, however, those won't work on the old 16bit DOS OS that we need it for.  :boohoo:

Kris

KrisB

Quote from: Tedd on April 26, 2005, 11:15:16 AM
What exactly are you having trouble with - the method? or the madness (coding :wink)??

Yes! :)

I could do it in .NET

void Main()
{
System.Console.WriteLine("Welcome to Time Sync");
System.Console.WriteLine("Please Enter the Laptop's Originating Zip Code");
object ZipCode = Console.ReadLine;
OleDbConnection cn;
OleDbCommand cmd;
OleDbDataReader dr;
string TimeZone;
string DayLightSavings;
try {