News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Big Integer Package

Started by gnomehome, April 21, 2005, 11:42:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gnomehome

I am a beginning masm32/intel assembly developer, but a quite experienced c/c++ developer.

That being said, I have been thinking about trying to write a big integer package (like for example GNU MP on UNIX) in assembly. I would need to implement functions like add, subtract, multiply and divide, how would I go about starting a project like this? Since the final product will be a dll, and I can't obviously start my beginning development and experimentation using a dll, should I use the sample code provided in the "Console Input/Output" thread, and start from there?

Also, I'm trying to figure out how to work with an integer, say for example 1024 bits in length using the 4 32-bit general purpose registers? (EAX, EBX, etc)

Thanks for any tips, suggestions, or warnings...

gh

roticv

Hello I am working on it, but currently not much progress. I only have multiplication, addition and subtraction up. Maybe we could join forces or something.

thomasantony

Hi,
  I am not very knowledgeable abt this. You will need to have 32 DWORD sized registers. So you can use and reuse the six registers ( EAX, EBX, ECX, EDX ESI EDI) or maybe use EBP too without using local variables.

Thomas :U
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.

Programmer's Directory. Submit for free

raymond

gnomehome

I don't know what your ultimate goal is regarding maximum size of numbers, input/output format of the numbers, complexity of the functions to be implemented, speed of execution, etc.

Have you given any thought to the use of BCD math if such would be satisfactory for all your goals. If you are not yet familiar with that subject, you may want to have a glance at the following (although it is still not yet fully completed):