News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Inline Assembly not the Same as MASM?

Started by Kyle, December 01, 2009, 01:29:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyle

I've been taking what MSVC 2008 puts out when I tell it to generate the assembly, and I get lines like:

mov BYTE PTR Box [ ebp + ecx ], cl ------ error C2404: 'ecx' : illegal register in 'first operand'

mov BYTE PTR Testvar [ ebp + ecx - 1 ], al ------ error C2404: 'ecx' : illegal register in 'first operand'

movzx ecx, BYTE PTR Enhance [ ebp + edx ] ------ error C2404: 'edx' : illegal register in 'second operand'

lea ecx, DWORD PTR Box [ ebp + ecx ] ------ error C2404: 'ecx' : illegal register in 'second operand'

Of course I cleaned it up a bit and then tried to inline it in the project. But is there any work around for this? I'm rather new to this, so its a bit odd. I know this may be an odd question.

I reckon this would work just fine in MASM, so I'm a bit stumped why MSVC is throwing a fit.

dedndave

i am not sure why it is doing that
it could be because the EBP register wants to reference to the stack segment
try switching it to EBX

mov     Box[ebx+ecx],cl

i dunno about all those spaces, either - lol

or segment override

mov     ds:Box[ebp+ecx],cl

BYTE PTR isn't needed in this case, because the size of the CL register forces it to be a byte
EDIT - oops - if Box is defined as a something other than a byte array, BYTE PTR may be required

hutch--

Kyle,

There is good reason NOT to use inline assembler in an optimising compiler, the register usage in inline assembler either messes up the optimisation due to lack of registers OR the compiler isolates the inline assembler code and increases its overhead which slows it down.