News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Hello (and a question)

Started by Tinito16, September 26, 2009, 06:10:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tinito16

This is my first post here so I'd like to say hi and introduce myself first. My name is Tino and I'm studying computer engineering at the University of Puerto Rico. I'm currently learning data structures (high level) and in another class we're doing assembly with MASM. I'm a total noob at this so I'm a bit confused about the whole thing... but all in all I'm understanding what we've taken so far.

Now, my question: when trying to link a file, I got an error message saying NTVDM.exe had stopped working. I could not link the file and therefore I could not create the .exe to debug or run it. I checked and NTVDM.exe turns out to be a process that makes running 16 bit apps in a 32 bit environment possible (from what I understood). I thought maybe my assembler was screwed up so I searched for it and downloaded it (MASM) but it said I needed Visual C++ 2005 to install it. I already have Visual Studio 2008...

I ran the program in Vista and it worked pretty much as advertised, but this week my computer vista-cided (would not boot up windows no matter what I tried) and I felt compelled to install Windows 7 instead of reinstalling Vista (wasn't a good experience at all). I formatted the hard drive (managed to back up my info thru command prompt) and installed Windows 7, but now that component of windows (NTVDM) seems to be either corrupted or it simply doesn't work with the MASM version I have. Everything else seems to be working fine. So a) what could it be, and b) what can I do about it?

Thanks!

hutch--

Tino,

Are you building 16 bit DOS applications ?
Download site for MASM32      New MASM Forum
https://masm32.com          https://masm32.com/board/index.php

Tinito16