News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Windbg Label Symbols

Started by andrewz, June 25, 2009, 07:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andrewz

I've been using VS6 as my debugger for the last several years. Unfortunately it doesn't work under Windows 7 and I don't want to run a virtual machine all the time. VS2008 seems a little quirky (trace doesn't accurately display the command just executed) and not as responsive. Ollydbg doesn't seem to use symbol files, or am I missing something?

I can use Windbg just fine except it doesn't know about all of my labels. It knows all of the data symbols and the public labels for jumps. I need to be able to disassemble code and set breakpoints anywhere in the program, not just at the public functions. With VS6 I could do that. With Windbg I need to assemble an "int 3" wherever I want to start debugging. I'm working with a dll and have the build process creating a pdb file.

andrewz

Looking at Olly 1.10 (instead of beta 2) I see it does import symbols. However, it has the same limitation of not knowing about all of my private labels used for jmp's and call's. Does anyone know how to change source, assembly, or linking to make these available? VS6 had them all.

ToutEnMasm

To put break point in your code,use debugbreak instead of int 3.
Debug of a dll with windbg need a break point.
i use Windbg to debug dll with the source code like that.
This need the full options to made the .pdb
          ml : Zi Zd
         link   /DEBUG /debugtype:cv
Then winddbg need to know where are the .pdb and you have to set it's environment variables like _NT_SYMBOL_PATH and so on.
Windows symbols must be also be up to date.
-c ".sympath+ SRV*C:\WINDOWS\Symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols"

When it's done , he can claim that he want others symbols,but if it follow the source code of the dll you haven't anything else to do.

sinsi