News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

SVGA or VGA initialization

Started by nrdev, May 24, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nrdev

How can I use SVGA or VGA graphics in the msam, I don't see that he have any dos graphic libraries?

dedndave

i think what you want to research is "direct-x"

nrdev

that's not it, I want to use one of SVGA, or VGA graphics in my console app, but I don't know how to do that.

dedndave

well - you communicate with the video system by way of the operating system
newer operating systems do not allow direct manipulation of hardware (they may emulate it for you)
i do have one program i wrote several years ago, however, that uses 320x200 256 color mode (mode 8 i think)
that program seems to run under windows XP, but it goes full-screen (emulated)
as i am new to writing for 32-bit code myself, i haven't played with graphics much yet
but, console mode is really intended for text apps
if you are talking about ways to move the cursor and that sort of thing, windows API gives you some functions

btw - welcome to masm32 forum

nrdev

So how can I make my program ot use 320x200x16 screen resoultion in fullscreen mode? That is the thing that I currently want ot do in my program.

dedndave

i am not sure about 16 color mode - 256 colors works better, though - and it's easier to program
because each pixel takes a single byte
i looked it up...
320 x 200 16-color is mode 0Dh
320 x 256 256-color is mode 13h
this page has a nice tutorial....
http://www.brackeen.com/vga/basics.html

EDIT:
to set the video mode to 13h.....

mov     ax,13h
        int       10h

UtillMasm

Windows 32-bit Console Application?
FullScreen?

what you mean?

###

Title: Command Prompt
Body: This system does not support fullscreen mode.

nrdev

I tried to use this code

mov     ax,13h
int       10h

but hte program crashes.

I want ot make  fullscreen 16-bit application

dedndave

lol