MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Super newbie :-) Problems with first program

Started by alzamabar, March 30, 2009, 10:11:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alzamabar

Hi all,

I'm reading Kip R. Irvine book 'Assembly language for intel-based computers'. I am a complete newbie to assembly code (although I have got several years experience in Java). I'm running on Windows XP SP3. Have installed Masm32 and also an IDE (WinAsm). I'm trying a program on the book with the following code:

TITLE Hello World

; This program is an hello world program

INCLUDE Irvine32.inc

.code
main PROC

mov eax,10000h ; EAX = 10000h
add eax,40000h ; EAX = 50000h
sub eax,20000h ; EAX = 30000h
call DumpRegs ; display registers

exit
main EndP

END main

I have added Irvine32.inc source in \masm32\include. The program assembles fine, but when I try to link it I get the following exceptions:

helloworld.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _ExitProcess@4
helloworld.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _DumpRegs@0
C:\Projects\assembler\helloworld.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 2 unresolved externals

I have no idea on how to solve this problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. I know that it's something to do with the included library. In fact, if I remove the references to Irvine32.inc the program compiles and runs fine (although it doesn't do anything special)

M.

brethren

its probably not a good idea to stick the Irvine32.inc and Irvine32.lib files in with the the masm32 project, just extract all the files to somewhere like C:\Irvine

then add these lines to your program

INCLUDE \Irvine\Irvine32.inc
INCLUDELIB \Irvine\Irvine32.lib
INCLUDELIB \Irvine\kernel32.lib

btw why not use the batch files that come with the cd to assemble your program? Or you could go to kip irvine's website and download the latest version of his library, the files will be installed to \Irvine by default

alzamabar