News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Limitations of the FAR Jump

Started by baltoro, March 29, 2009, 10:10:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baltoro

I'm a novice to assembly programming,...everything I know, I got from: "Assembly Language for Intel-based Computers", by Kip Irvine, and, of course, the Intel Developers Guides. Irvine's book is somewhat obsolete; lots of code for DOS 16-bit programs (which you can't run on Windows XP), and mostly simple techniques demonstrating the most often used aspects of assembly programming.
I was reading with great interest the section on interrupts and the DOS interrupt codes, and then, he states that interrupt processing in 32-bit protected mode is possible, but, beyond the scope of the book.
What I'd like to do is write an assembly program (that runs in user mode, not kernel mode) that can access the interrupt table (just to enumerate the interrupt-gate descriptors). Is this possible? Is this too difficult for a novice? Is my conceptual thinking completely whacked?   
Also, I'm interested in just what restrictions are imposed from a hardware and system architecture perspective on the capabilities of FAR jump instructions. I realize that it is impossible to jump into kernel mode, and that I should be restricted from write access of another process's virtual memory. Also, the issue of segment selectors confuses me. Is it possible to execute a FAR Jump without a segment reference? Is this legal, or safe, even preferable? I'm writing for windows XP, and I'll probably integrate the code into a C++ program. 
Thanks.
Baltoro

dedndave

First, let me start by saying it would be to your advantage to learn 32-bit API code.
It is not that difficult, although, it is good to also have a grasp of 16-bit code, as well.
   Next, in 16-bit mode, it is very simple to look into the interrupt table, especially if