I have fixed a few obscure problems, fixed the plugin DLL for text conversion, added F1 support for the old Winhelp format as there seems to be nothing else available that will do the same job, wrote a new script to create your own plugin DLLs and re-arranged the menus so they are more like a working environment than a test piece.
As before put this in a seperate directory in the same drive as MASM32 so you don't mess up the existing installation. The project menu calls the normal build batch files in masm32 so you can test out this version without changing anything in your installation.
Any feedback would be welcome and if anyone has the time to test the printing on a Windows only printer it would be most appreciated.
[attachment deleted by admin]
I'm not sure what you mean by a Windows only printer, but the printing works OK on my DeskJet 1000C using the default drivers under Windows 2000.
Also, in the In-memory Dialogs Reference there is no mention of CallModelessDialog or any modeless-dialog specific information.
My file is C:\My Documents\ASM\scandir.asm
I tryed Assembly&Link:
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Assembling: C:\My
MASM : fatal error A1000:cannot open file : C:\My
_
Assembly Error
Press any key to continue . . .
Print OK. My printer is HP LaserJet6P/6MP PostScript
OS: Vista64 Ultimate
Thanks, I will add the modeless reference shortly. I don't know that model Deskjet but a Windows only printer is one of the cheapies that only handles graphic data and I don't know anyone who has one. At least I know the printing works on an Inkjet type printer. :thumbu
Lingo,
Thanks, your HP is a later version than my LJ5mp. If you have time, try this for me, if your masm32 version is an old one, enclose the filename in quotes in the batch file and it should build source files that have spaces in the path and file name.
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\li>C:\masm32\bin\build.bat C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr\scandir
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Assembling: C:\My.asm
MASM : fatal error A1000:cannot open file : C:\My.asm
_
Assembly Error
Press any key to continue . . .
C:\Users\li>C:\masm32\bin\build.bat "C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr\scandir"
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Assembling: C:\My
MASM : fatal error A1000:cannot open file : C:\My
_
Assembly Error
Press any key to continue . . .
C:\Users\li>
Lingo,
Thanks for the result, I don't know what is happening as the attached file has both long dir name with spaces and a long file name with spaces and it builds correctly. Works on any ML version from 6.14 up to 8.00.
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 6.14.8444
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1981-1997. All rights reserved.
Assembling: long file name.asm
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 5.12.8078
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1992-1998. All rights reserved.
Volume in drive H is WIN2K_H
Volume Serial Number is 20E8-3719
Directory of H:\long dir name
11/26/2006 09:36p 580 long file name.asm
08/01/2008 01:14p 917 long file name.obj
08/01/2008 01:14p 2,560 long file name.exe
3 File(s) 4,057 bytes
0 Dir(s) 17,059,053,568 bytes free
Press any key to continue . . .
No problem. I use MS Studio 2008. :wink
When I started my updated build.bat file I receive:
C:\masm32\bin>build
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Assembling: C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr\scandir.asm
Volume in drive C is Vista
Volume Serial Number is 8AC8-C7C9
Directory of C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr
File Not Found
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr\
scandir.obj'
_
Link error
Press any key to continue . . .
C:\masm32\bin>
here is my updated build.bat file:
[attachment deleted by admin]
But when I copy "non updated" build.bat to C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr and start it all is OK...
C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr>build scandir
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Assembling: scandir.asm
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Volume in drive C is Vista
Volume Serial Number is 8AC8-C7C9
Directory of C:\My Documents\ASM\ScanDIr
07/23/2008 07:17 PM 291,738 scandir.asm
02/15/2008 10:20 PM 526,848 scandir.cpp
07/23/2008 07:17 PM 880,128 scandir.doc
07/04/2003 10:02 AM 129,024 scandir.docLAST
09/10/2006 06:24 PM 507,904 scandir.dox.doc
08/09/2003 06:55 PM 25,199 scandir.e
08/07/2003 12:46 PM 21,504 SCANDIR.EX1
07/31/2008 11:46 PM 26,624 scandir.exe
08/30/2003 09:20 AM 99 scandir.mps
08/11/2003 06:44 PM 345,700 SCANDIR.NMS
07/31/2008 11:46 PM 37,410 scandir.obj
09/26/2003 08:45 AM 46,592 scandir.opt
10/11/2006 01:48 PM 240,640 SCANDIR.PDB
06/02/2005 01:09 AM 424,303 scandir.pdf
08/07/2003 07:29 PM 28,672 SCANDIR.PE
07/04/2003 12:22 AM 101,736 scandir.rtf
02/05/2008 10:38 PM 604 SCANDIR.SLN
07/23/2003 12:57 PM 27,648 scandir.str
18 File(s) 3,662,373 bytes
0 Dir(s) 6,271,840,256 bytes free
Press any key to continue . . .
I had a look at the batch file and it chould work, I know for sure they work on win2000 and XP up to SP2 but I don't know if Vista does something different in terms of how it passes its paths. With the batch file you posted, will it work if run from CMD.EXE ?
"With the batch file you posted, will it work if run from CMD.EXE?"
No, I posted the result up..
Later:
I have 3 OS on 1 disk: Vista64 SP1, Win XP SP3 and Mac OSx 10.5.3
I restarted and loaded Win XP SP3. Tested your quick editor again. All is OK.
Thanks for the testing, I am none the wiser on the 64 bit version but it sounds like its CMD.EXE does something different when it runs a batch file. I know there are differences btween the old command.com and cmd.exe but I don't have access yet to 64 bit hardware/software to test it.
Your qeditor works under Vista64 Ultimate SP3 too, but
I used next Vista option: ->qeditor.exe ->right button->menu->Compatability->Run this program in compatability mode for: Windows XP (Service Pack2)
but with contents of build.bat like my attached file build.zip
With normal build.bat doesn't work