I have problems with the following segment of code (hla 1.74):
static
qw0: int64;
w0: int16;
begin xxx;
fist(w0); // compiles OK, but the manual says "32 and 64 bits only!" (Hla Ref man, p219)
All the other combinations of fpu load/store for integer operands appears OK.
Regards
Quote from: ms on February 14, 2005, 10:55:30 PM
I have problems with the following segment of code (hla 1.74):
static
qw0: int64;
w0: int16;
begin xxx;
fist(w0); // compiles OK, but the manual says "32 and 64 bits only!" (Hla Ref man, p219)
All the other combinations of fpu load/store for integer operands appears OK.
Regards
Manual is wrong, HLA is right. The following works as expected:
program t;
#include( "stdlib.hhf" )
static
qw0: int64;
w0: int16 := 1;
w1: int16 := 2;
begin t;
fldz();
fist(w0);
stdout.put( "w0=", w0, " w1=", w1, nl );
end t;
That is, it prints "w0=0 w1=2" as w1 does not get overwritten (as would be the case if this code were actually writing 32 bits).
Cheers,
Randy Hyde
ms
Are you sure that the manual was referring to the fist instruction.
If it was, then it is wrong because you CANNOT use fist for 64-bit integers. If, however, it was referring to the fst instruction, then it was correct.
The fist and fst instructions are not the same.
Raymond
Quote from: raymond on February 16, 2005, 01:43:18 AM
ms
Are you sure that the manual was referring to the fist instruction.
If it was, then it is wrong because you CANNOT use fist for 64-bit integers. If, however, it was referring to the fst instruction, then it was correct.
The fist and fst instructions are not the same.
Raymond
Hmmm... News to me. The following code compiles and runs just fine:
program t;
#include( "stdlib.hhf" )
static
qw0: int64;
w0: int16 := 1;
w1: int16 := 2;
w2: int64 := 1_234_567_890_123;
f2: real80;
begin t;
fldz();
fist(w0);
stdout.put( "w0=", w0, " w1=", w1, nl );
fild( w2 );
fstp( f2 );
stdout.put( "flt(w2)=", f2, nl );
end t;
Cheers,
Randy Hyde
\
QuoteHmmm... News to me. The following code compiles and runs just fine:
I don't disagree with your posted code assembling and running OK. It didn't contain any
fist qword instruction!!!
My post stated:
Quoteyou CANNOT use fist for 64-bit integers
Raymond
Quote from: raymond on February 16, 2005, 09:07:00 PM
QuoteHmmm... News to me. The following code compiles and runs just fine:
I don't disagree with your posted code assembling and running OK. It didn't contain any fist qword instruction!!!
My post stated:
Quoteyou CANNOT use fist for 64-bit integers
Raymond
Duh....
Next time I'll have to read things a little closer.
No, you can't use fist with 64-bit integers. :naughty:
Cheers,
Randy Hyde