The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 03:12:49 PM

Title: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 03:12:49 PM
Is the Hutch that I see posting THE Steve Hutchesson?  If so, can you enlighten me on how to use your QEditor?  If not, can anyone tell me how?  I'm new to MASM and have been attempting to penetrate it at the 16 bit level til now.  I have MASM32 and am at the tutorial level trying out the seven examples given in the package, but I can't seem to succeed with "Build this with the 'Project' menu using 'Console Assemble and Link.'"  I've entered the code in the QEditor but am at a loss as to what to do from there and the help menu doesn't really tell much about how to use the QEditor.  It seems to be a matter of too many options for me to assimilate.  Thanks for any help. Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Tedd on May 17, 2007, 03:51:51 PM
Yeah, that's him (just don't tell the cops)


type in the code
save it to a file, e.g. "test.asm" (must end with .asm, and make sure the full path to the file has no spaces in)
Project -> Console Assemble & Link
..et voila..
you should have an exe in the same folder as your asm source
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 04:23:34 PM
O.K. I'm back and feeling kinda retarded.  When I go to the project menu and click on console assemble and link I get the "no file loaded" notice, however in the file menu I can't find anything but load script and that takes me to the directory for the MASM32 package (which is pretty slick by the way).  I've got my source code filed with an .asm but can't figure out how to get it loaded.  I guess I'm just a command prompt kind of a guy.  Thanks.  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: MichaelW on May 17, 2007, 04:53:18 PM
For an existing file, use Open on the File menu to load it into the editor. For a new file you can code your own or start with one of the templates from the Code menu. Any changes you make to a file must be saved before you attempt to assemble/build it. See Quick Editor help on the Help menu.

Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 05:22:08 PM
I really did check out the help for qeditor before I came here and didn't find anything to address my problem.  Now I've got the source code to load but at the "console assemble and link" I get fatal error a1000 or something to that effect.  In short it says that it's unable to open that .asm file.  The title bar reads "G:\masm32\HELLO.asm\HELLO.asm.  (I'm using an extra hard drive to hold programming shtuff.)  Thanks for your patience.  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Vortex on May 17, 2007, 06:18:41 PM
Louis,

Can you send the source code?
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 06:24:26 PM
I'm pretty sure I can.  Just right-click on it and send it as an attachment, right?  What do I use for an address?   The thing I see in my address bar is about a yard long.  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Vortex on May 17, 2007, 06:28:56 PM
Louis,

Click Additional Options and click the browse button to attach a file.
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 06:55:00 PM
You see, you people assume that I know things, and I don't.  Additional Options, where?  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Vortex on May 17, 2007, 07:04:28 PM
Louis,

While replying, you should be able to view the Additional Options :

(http://vortex.masmcode.com/figs/reply.PNG)
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 07:45:12 PM
Sorry man, I've been up since three this morning and I'm running down.  Here goes.  Thanks.  Louis

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Vortex on May 17, 2007, 07:57:46 PM
Louis,

There is only one simple line to correct in your code, you should put a leading semicolon sign in the fist line :

;                                          HELLO

Save those commands in a batch file and retry to build the example code :
\masm32\bin\ml /c /coff Hello.asm
\masm32\bin\link /SUBSYSTEM:CONSOLE Hello.obj
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 08:40:57 PM
I should have noticed that.  I added the semicolon and saved, but still get the fatal error A1000.  I'm mystified.  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: Vortex on May 17, 2007, 09:03:09 PM
Which line in the source code reports this error message?
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 17, 2007, 09:26:53 PM
It's still saying that it cannot open file.  I just assumed that it was something that I did wrong about naming the file or misusing QEditor somehow.  Louis
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: MichaelW on May 17, 2007, 11:22:03 PM
Except for the problem that Vortex noted, your source is OK. One possible cause for your problem assembling is that the path for the working directory has an embedded space somewhere. If I put the source in the directory:

"C:\masm32\My\_TRY\New Folder"

Then I can load the file into QE no problem, but when I attempt to assemble it I get:

Assembling: C:\masm32\My\_TRY\New.asm
MASM : fatal error A1000: cannot open file : C:\masm32\My\_TRY\New.asm

Note how ML sees only the part of the path that precedes the space. This problem most frequently occurs when a source file is stored in a directory off of the "My Documents" directory. The obvious fix is to work in a directory where there are no spaces anywhere in the path.
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: LouisStDubois on May 18, 2007, 08:33:38 PM
Can anyone explain to me how QEditor can load the file and allow me to edit the file, but yet the compiler can't open it, is that right?
Title: Re: how to use qeditor
Post by: hutch-- on May 18, 2007, 11:36:04 PM
Louis,

The questions you are asking are basically all path related ones that as a programmer you should know. QE is just an editor that will edit and save text format files that are used by assemblers and compilers to build binary files.

Go to the MASM32 subforum and get the collection of batch files, put them in the right place and it will solve most of your path problems.