The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: WayneSallee on April 26, 2007, 01:05:52 AM

Title: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 26, 2007, 01:05:52 AM
I keep getting an error that states "Can't open file 'C:\Documents.exe'

Wayne Sallee
Wayne@WayneSallee.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: hutch-- on April 26, 2007, 01:41:42 AM
Congratulations, can you at least give us some context as to how this discovery is related to assembler programming ?
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: jckl on April 26, 2007, 02:21:42 AM
I would assume it is when he tries to build a project.

To fix this you need to take the spaces out of the path.
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 26, 2007, 02:47:22 AM
Quote from: jckl on April 26, 2007, 02:21:42 AM
I would assume it is when he tries to build a project.

To fix this you need to take the spaces out of the path.

Yep that's correct.

Spaces out of what path?

Also there is no such file name anywhere on the computer. But for some reason it keeps looking for Documents.asm, and Documents.exe in the root directory of C.

That's on my laptop. On my desktop computer it keeps looking for my.asm, and my.exe I tryed reinstalling the software on the laptop, but it didn't help.

Wayne Sallee
Wayne's Pets
Wayne@WaynesPets.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 26, 2007, 02:59:00 AM
Also I used File Locator Pro to search through all files (not including zip) for the word "documents", and it only found it in the asmble.txt, but nowere els in the entire masm32 directory. I did find "document", but not "documents".

oops, had the find after date option checked in File Locator Pro. Fixed that and found it in some files, but nothing that looked like it was refering to that file name.

Wayne Sallee
Wayne's Pets
Wayne@WaynesPets.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: jckl on April 26, 2007, 03:48:59 AM
Path to the file. For instance you have your asm file in C:\documents and settings\...    You cant have spaces in the path.  I have a folder on C:\ called asm_apps and all my projects go in there.
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: Tedd on April 26, 2007, 12:57:07 PM
It's caused by QEditor using batch files for the build processing - the batch files split the strings according to where spaces appear - as a result, when your file is given as "C:\Documents and Settings\Wayne\My Documents\program.asm" it will be split into "C:\Documents", "and", "Settings\Wayne\My", "Documents\program.asm" -- the first of these is taken as the file name "C:\Documents" and the rest are ignored (.exe is appended to the filename depending on what you're doing.)
Anyway, the way to fix it is fairly simple (lucky for you :wink) One way is to avoid the problem and make sure the full path to your code files does not contain any spaces, e.g. "C:\Projects\test\program.asm" and that will work fine. The other is to fix the actual problem by editing the file "menus.ini" which can be found in your masm folder ("C:\Masm32\" ?) -- where you see {b} enclose it in quotes, i.e. "{b}" (also, add them around {b}.exe = "{b}.exe") and that will cause the quotes to be passed onto the .bat files, which will then know where to split the filenames :cheekygreen:


[Hutch: any plans to update this in the masm package and avoid this problem? :P]
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: hutch-- on April 26, 2007, 01:08:03 PM
tedd,

I am always impressed with how observant most people are, the replacement batch files were done and posted in the masm32 subforum some time ago.
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: Tedd on April 26, 2007, 01:33:42 PM
Quote from: hutch-- on April 26, 2007, 01:08:03 PM
tedd,

I am always impressed with how observant most people are, the replacement batch files were done and posted in the masm32 subforum some time ago.

Funny, but take that back on yourself :P Read what I actually wrote -- "any plans to update this in the masm package...?" (so how observant are you?)
I'm perfectly aware they are hidden away in that subforum, but clearly newcomers and beginners are not -- this question does appear periodically. It's all very well posting the solution where no-one will find it, but in order for it to be useful it should really be fixed IN THE PACKAGE itself.

(By the by, I recall pointing this very problem out to you around 6-7 years ago.)
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: hutch-- on April 26, 2007, 02:10:09 PM
Tedd,

I still have the same level of impression. The problem was solved when I posted the set of batch files in the masm32 subdirectory. NO  have no plans to upgrade the project for that reason alone, its usually a threshold issue of how much has to be changed before and upgrade is worth the effort. I post tweaks and service packs for exactly the reason that full versions are a lot of work to get up and going.
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 26, 2007, 10:45:21 PM
Quote from: Tedd on April 26, 2007, 12:57:07 PM
It's caused by QEditor using batch files for the build processing - the batch files split the strings according to where spaces appear - as a result, when your file is given as "C:\Documents and Settings\Wayne\My Documents\program.asm" it will be split into "C:\Documents", "and", "Settings\Wayne\My", "Documents\program.asm" -- the first of these is taken as the file name "C:\Documents" and the rest are ignored (.exe is appended to the filename depending on what you're doing.)
Anyway, the way to fix it is fairly simple (lucky for you :wink) One way is to avoid the problem and make sure the full path to your code files does not contain any spaces, e.g. "C:\Projects\test\program.asm" and that will work fine. The other is to fix the actual problem by editing the file "menus.ini" which can be found in your masm folder ("C:\Masm32\" ?) -- where you see {b} enclose it in quotes, i.e. "{b}" (also, add them around {b}.exe = "{b}.exe") and that will cause the quotes to be passed onto the .bat files, which will then know where to split the filenames :cheekygreen:


[Hutch: any plans to update this in the masm package and avoid this problem? :P]



Thanks for the good explanation. I followed the quotation mark instructions, but it did not fix the problem. Temporarily I'm now working with a directory name that does not have any spaces, and that fixes it, but I'd like to fix it so that I can use the spaces. Any Ideas?

Hutch, can you tell me where I can get a copy of the updated file?

Wayne Sallee
Wayne's Pets
Wayne@WaynesPets.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: hutch-- on April 27, 2007, 12:49:44 AM
Wayne,

New batch files and menu.in file for masm32.

http://www.masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=6238.0
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 27, 2007, 03:57:35 AM
Quote from: hutch-- on April 27, 2007, 12:49:44 AM
Wayne,

New batch files and menu.in file for masm32.

http://www.masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=6238.0


Thanks, I went there, and downloaded bfiles.zip and installed all of the files in the Masm32 root directory, and it did not fix it.

Wayne Sallee
Wayne's Pets
Wayne@WaynesPets.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: WayneSallee on April 27, 2007, 04:04:21 AM
Well it would help if I would fully read the directions. "put the bat files in the bin folder"

Now it works great !

Thanks Hutch.

Wayne Sallee
Wayne's Pets
Wayne@WaynesPets.com
Title: Re: Documents.exe Error
Post by: hutch-- on April 27, 2007, 05:28:08 AM
 :bg   :U