The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => GoAsm Assembler and Tools => Topic started by: KSS on April 10, 2006, 11:38:48 PM

Title: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: KSS on April 10, 2006, 11:38:48 PM
Who know, how I can save and restore position of the band in rebar control?
I try do it with save and restore of band in for structures (REBARBANDINFO), BUT it work different wits unicode and ANSI version of code, and different version of common controls (WinXP and WinXP with SP2+fix from SP3). :'(
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: donkey on April 11, 2006, 03:10:42 AM
Interesting question, I haven't really played with rebar controls much so I don't have an answer, I think the only place I ever used one was in ToolbarPaint for the tools window. Even then i didn't use bands, just needed it to have a vertical toolbar. If no-one answers by the weekend I will play around with it for a while and see what I can come up with, long weekend and nothing much planned so this might fill some time.
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: KSS on August 27, 2007, 12:53:05 AM
Who know, how I can save and restore position of the band in rebar (coolbar) control?  :dazzled:
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: Budded on September 16, 2007, 03:13:16 PM
I also got this problem, is anyone can slove this?
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: KSS on September 24, 2007, 08:47:55 AM
I found the problem decision  :dance: , seeming. As soon as there will be time will be engaged in a code writing.
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: ToutEnMasm on September 24, 2007, 12:56:52 PM
Hello,
I don't know how it can be made,but I know how it work.
First ,position of the band depend of the lenght of the window.
You can't save the position of the band without this data.
Second ,bands have a minimum size in lenght,the rebar control play with this to show the bands in any numbers of lines he want.
User can change the lenght of the bands ,change the order of the bands,delet the bands.
Many things to save , or perhaps ,delet the bands and rebar(?),resize the window and re-create the bands.

This sample can enlight the subject (destroy the rebar before move it)
http://msdn.microsoft.com/archive/default.asp?url=/archive/en-us/samples/internet/commctrl/rebar/default.asp
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on October 05, 2010, 10:24:24 PM
   Hey guys. I have some questions... I made a rebar control with two bands but i have a problem at application startup. I process the RBN_HEIGHTCHANGE to substract the size of other child windows when a band is dragged. when the applcation starts up and the first and i process the first RBN_HEIGHTCHANGE ( at rebar control creation ) and i send the RB_GETBARHEIGHT msg the returned height is equivalent to the bands being in two separate lines though they're side by side. Does anyone know why?
   please feel free to reply.
   ty and bye guys
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: KSS on October 05, 2010, 10:58:55 PM
Try do not process RBN_HEIGHTCHANGE before your window is not visible.
P.S. ReBar Control is very buggy...
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on October 05, 2010, 11:15:04 PM
   Nice advice KSS. I'll look into it.
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on May 06, 2012, 06:15:57 PM
   i know that this is an old thread but i was wondering if anyone been around the RB_SIZETORECT and MoveWindow with rebars, when processing WM_SIZE. I'm getting a lot of flickering and i was wondering if someone could give me some pointers. Kay? I'm posting what i've done so far...
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: KSS on May 06, 2012, 10:12:25 PM
Try to use BeginDeferWindowPos, DeferWindowPos, EndDeferWindowPos.


...
invoke GetClientRect,hFN,ADDR FN_Client_Rect
MOV hDWP,FUNC(BeginDeferWindowPos,5)
; Set size of hReBarMainTop
MOV    ReBarTopHeight,FUNC(SendMessageW,hReBarMainTop,RB_GETBARHEIGHT,0,0)
invoke DeferWindowPos,hDWP,hReBarMainTop,0,0,0,FN_Client_Rect.right,ReBarTopHeight,SWP_NOMOVE or SWP_NOOWNERZORDER or SWP_NOZORDER
CheckDWPCall
; Set size of hReBarMainBottom
MOV    ReBarBottomHeight,FUNC(SendMessageW,hReBarMainBottom,RB_GETBARHEIGHT,0,0)
MOV    ECX,FN_Client_Rect.bottom
SUB    ECX,ReBarBottomHeight
invoke DeferWindowPos,hDWP,hReBarMainBottom,0,0,ECX,FN_Client_Rect.right,ReBarBottomHeight,SWP_NOOWNERZORDER or SWP_NOZORDER
CheckDWPCall
...

and I terminate processing WM_ERASEBKGND because my main window covered by childs controls.
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on May 12, 2012, 11:45:19 PM
   KSS...i've tried it but there's still flickering. Looking for options.... i'll check later for replies. maybe i misunderstood it. Posting results.
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: dedndave on May 12, 2012, 11:56:46 PM
well - DeferWindowPos may not help too much with flicker - it seems to be fast, though

here are a couple things that i have done in the past that have helped with flicker

behind scrollbars, use COLOR_SCROLLBAR (+1)
in some cases, i make a seperate window for the client area and use NULL_BRUSH
use WS_CLIPCHILDREN
also - make sure you aren't updating the window 2 or 3 times each time it is redrawn   :red

after that - you are talking about handling WM_PAINT and double-buffering
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 12:02:21 AM
what i am seeing is not flicker, as far as i can tell

what i do see is this...
when you bring some other window to the foreground
then move it away....
there is a delay before the toolbar is re-drawn
this is due to the fact that WM_PAINT is handled almost as a last resort - lol
the only thing lower in priority is WM_TIMER (another one that sometimes needs higher priority)

i was thinking about tinkering with the message loop to boost WM_PAINT   :P
probably not really "clean" programming - a kludge at best
but - i am curious to see, is all
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 12:29:02 AM
well - those are 24-bit BMP images
i see you using maybe 16 colors ?
perhaps you could convert them to 16-color files - maybe even ICO
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on May 19, 2012, 11:06:45 PM
   well.... yea i used ms imageditor. Those are 16 color. Looking for solutions. laters. thanks ded
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: dedndave on May 20, 2012, 12:26:31 AM
my mistake - they ARE 16-color   :P

there has to be something wrong
i think Hutch has some rebar examples around someplace that work well
Title: Re: Rebar control (save, restore band position)
Post by: xandaz on May 21, 2012, 07:55:12 PM
   okies dave. The thing is i think that RB_SIZETORECT doesn't work very well... It should be a simple way to reorganize the rebar bands. Thanks.