The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => GoAsm Assembler and Tools => Topic started by: donkey on January 23, 2006, 11:21:05 PM

Title: Macro problem
Post by: donkey on January 23, 2006, 11:21:05 PM
Hi Jeremy,

FYI, AND NOT and OR will cause an error if used in a macro, I was trying to do a few math functions for a project and discovered this.

Donkey
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: jorgon on January 24, 2006, 08:39:52 AM
Hi Donkey

Thanks for letting me know, I'll look into it.
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: bushpilot on January 24, 2006, 08:49:41 AM
It has been a long time donkey.  Welcome back.

Greg
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: donkey on January 28, 2006, 01:53:52 PM
Thanks Greg,

Still away for a bit longer, but I remain very active in programming, just no time for the boards these days life seems to be getting in the way. When I get a chance I will post an expanded version of WinExplorer that features some new test items as well as some useful macros - CoInvoke and CInvoke for automated COM and C Calls. As well as some interesting COM examples inculding IShellFolder, IActiveDesktop and others.

Edgar
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: jorgon on March 03, 2006, 11:03:59 AM
Edgar

Sorry I couldn't reproduce this problem.  Could you post the macro which gave you trouble?  Thanks.

Jeremy
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: donkey on March 03, 2006, 12:55:32 PM
Hi Jeremy,

here's is an example that is reproducable here at least (GoAsm.Exe Version 0.55)

TESTMACRO(%a,%b,%c)= mov eax,%a \
and eax,%b \
or eax,%c \
not eax

CODE SECTION
START:
TESTMACRO(1,2,3)


Message:

QuoteError!
Line 14 of assembler source file (testmacro.asm):-
Misplaced comma:-
,2 \
   or eax,3 \
   not eax
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: jorgon on March 04, 2006, 12:03:12 PM
Thanks, in my tests I was trying to use NOT AND OR as operatives (in arithmetic procedures) rather than as mnemonics!
I'll try again.
Title: Re: Macro problem
Post by: jorgon on March 06, 2006, 10:19:11 PM
Edgar

Got to the bottom of this one!
The fix is in GoAsm Version 0.55.03 beta available from here (http://www.jorgon.freeserve.co.uk/GoasmBeta.zip).

Many thanks