The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: Alloy on September 23, 2005, 01:24:44 AM

Title: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: Alloy on September 23, 2005, 01:24:44 AM
Are there console commands I can put in a batch file to get Visual Studio's debugger to start debugging an executable without going through the same old click, load, debug GUI routine?
Title: Re: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: GregL on September 23, 2005, 02:26:47 AM
For Visual Studio .NET 2003:

    Devenv Command Line Switches (http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/vsintro7/html/vxgrfCommandLineSwitches.asp)

Title: Re: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: Mincho Georgiev on September 23, 2005, 08:35:31 AM
Hi there,Alloy! You better try my way to do it. I've made that .reg entry so when you right click an application just select 'DEBUG' from the popup menu.
If your directoy's are not the same as mine,just edit the 'reg' file that i've attached and change them!
Thank you for reply!
:U


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: Mincho Georgiev on September 23, 2005, 09:00:22 AM
By the way,you can use the same commands in your batch file,but i think that this is the most efficient way (with right click).
Let me explain you something. When a command in batch file or wherever finish with a '%1' after the name of the Application that file use,that means that you have to input the name of the file ,who's will be explored (or somethin') by the program whit the typed name.
For example:

if in your batch file is this:

c:\progra~1\micros~1\common~1\MSDEV.exe %1 ,

that means:

in cmd:
[name of the bach file] [name of the application]

I hope you understanding my point!
Bye for now  :U

Title: Re: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: Alloy on September 23, 2005, 11:28:48 AM
Quote from: Greg on September 23, 2005, 02:26:47 AM
For Visual Studio .NET 2003:

    Devenv Command Line Switches (http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/vsintro7/html/vxgrfCommandLineSwitches.asp)



Thanks Greg.
Title: Re: Console commands to invoke Visual Studio's Debugger?
Post by: Alloy on September 23, 2005, 11:34:09 AM
Quote from: shaka_zulu on September 23, 2005, 09:00:22 AM

if in your batch file is this:

c:\progra~1\micros~1\common~1\MSDEV.exe %1 ,

that means:

in cmd:
[name of the bach file] [name of the application]

I hope you understanding my point!
Bye for now  :U


Thanks for the info shaka_zulu. I already use %1 in my assembling and linking.   :U