The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => IDE Development and Support => RadAsm Support Forum => Topic started by: KetilO on June 23, 2005, 08:23:27 AM

Title: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 23, 2005, 08:23:27 AM
Whats new:

o New dialog preview addin (Preview.dll).
0 New create proto addin (CreateProtoEx.dll).
o ReallyRad addin ready for language translation.
o RADbg addin ready for language translation.
o Improved intellisense.
o Added intellisense icons.
  - High word of the listbox itemdata is the icon index (0-15).
o Added support for bcet basic.
  - http://www.arargh.com/basic/index.html
o Possible to ovverride assembler type.
o Added CodeTemplates addin. Created by drizz.
o Added keywords.txt. Processor instructions hiliting. Created by drizz.
  - Edit your assembler.ini file.
o Fixed a bug where the resource file dialog would open last dir, not current project dir.
o Added ^I (Tab) and ^M (Enter) to find dialog. Makes it possible to search for Tab and CR.
o Added custom controls include files to Masm\Inc.
o Added RadADDIN.inc to Masm\Inc. Created by drizz.
  - Makes it possible to use invoke on RadASM addin functions.

KetilO

- 06-27-2005, 15 dl, Added intellisense icons.
- 07-06-2005, 36 dl, Added support for bcet BASIC.
- 07-07-2005, 3 dl, Fixed an 'open file from explorer bug if single instance'
- 07-17-2005, 26 dl, Added posibility to ovverride assembler type.
- 07-20-2005, 21 dl, Fixed a problem showing the intellisense listbox on 2k and 98.
- 07-24-2005, 20 dl, Fixed more problems with the intellisense listbox.
- 07-28-2005, 21 dl, A few fixes / improvements. Added CodeTemplates addin by drizz.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 27, 2005, 12:39:03 PM
Hi all

New upload:

o Added intellisense icons.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 27, 2005, 01:23:47 PM
Hi KetilO
Looks much better!  :8)
I read that you use the ItemData field (high word) of the ListBox to store the index of an icon. Since I also use this filed to store additional info of each item, I want ask you if it is possible to implement a more flexible approach storing there a pointer to a user defined structure like

ItemInfo struct
  dIconIndex: dword
  more info...
ItemInfo ends


The tricky part is the deallocation of these structures... but it can be solved catching the WM_DELETEITEM message.

Second question, how can I add new icon to your internal IconList?

Regards,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 27, 2005, 01:42:47 PM
Hi again
I experimented a little bit with the new ListBox. I ored the pointer that I store in the ItemData with 1, 2, 3 etc and I was surprised that my original pointers also work. Did you reset the high order byte?   :eek
Regardless of the value I put, I get always the same icon, Have you reserved some positions for your own? If yes, can you list them and its purpose?

I noted that the intellisence (structure members autocomplete doesn't work within methods). Is there a way to say RadASM to handle methods like procedures?

Thanks,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Faiseur on June 27, 2005, 06:52:02 PM
Hello KetilO,

I noted that if I activate all the custom controls (14 in my list with RaGraph), the number now exceeds those which are shown in Toolbox by defect in my configuration (1024*768 and my taskbar is higher than that by defect in Windows).  It is not a problem, the toolbox can of course being increased, but nothing indicates to the user if icons are not shown in Toolbox. Perhaps could you inform when icons are not shown.

Regards,

Marc

Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 27, 2005, 07:52:25 PM
Hi Biterider

RadASM does not modify itemdata unless it populates the listbox itself.

If you subclass the mdi frame and handle the drawing yourself, then itemdata can contain whatever you want.

Included CodeComplete example.

BTW
I dont think your addin returns FALSE from DllProc when it should. This causes problems for other addins.

KetilO

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 27, 2005, 07:54:01 PM
Hi Faiseur

I will see if I can come up with something.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 29, 2005, 06:06:48 AM
Hi KetilO
Using this RadASM version I noted something strange related to the named bookmarks. When I want to jump to one of them, a new file instance is opened, regardless if it is just open. Jumping back ignores the first instance.

Is there a way to delete a named bookmark?

Regards,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 29, 2005, 07:49:50 AM
Hi Biterider

It works as it should here. Could you tell me more (filename / file-path / project-path).

You can remove a named bookmark with toggle bookmark (Shift+F8).

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: chiwing on June 29, 2005, 05:54:41 PM
OH! what? RADASM have version v2.2.0.3?

I have dl radasm v2.2.0.3 in http://www.radasm.com just now...

hi, KeyilO. nice to meet u, this is the first time i come here, and i am the beginner of Win32 asm^^
y don't u post the dl link of radasm v2.2.0.3? does it a beta version, or have bug? i always seek the newest version software>>

THX for asking my qs^^
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 29, 2005, 06:59:29 PM
Hi chiwing

The idea about posting a bugtest version here is that a few people can try it out for bugs.
If I get no bugreports I will make the release.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 29, 2005, 09:42:44 PM
Hi KetilO
Unfortunately I can't reproduce the aparent bug with the named bookmarks. The next time it appears I will see to fix the context.
I noted that the behaviour of the listbox has changed a little from 2.2.0.2 to 2.2.0.3. Previously you could made a selection pressing the spacebar. Now this doesn't work any more.

I implemented the listbox information icons for the ObjAsm32 AddIn and it works as expected.  :U
I want to test it first and then I'll repost the sources.

Regard,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on June 30, 2005, 07:23:31 AM
Hi Biterider

Yes, the listbox does not get focus anymore. You can use Tab, Enter, Ctrl+Space or Shift+Space to get the selected item from the listbox.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 30, 2005, 02:24:57 PM
Hi KetilO
In the CodeComplete AddIn is possibly a hidden bug. When you activate the ListBox after the "CoInvoke" keyword and you press twice Ctrl+Space you get the general listbox but you don't see it. Using the ObjAsm32 the situation is worse, since I get a GPF.

Regards,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on June 30, 2005, 02:54:30 PM
Hi Ketilo
I found a second problem with the Ctrl+Space freature. If you make a selection of the ListBox and you delete the instered text immediately and finally move the caret to a different line, the code properties entries are duplicated.

Regards

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 01, 2005, 02:06:41 PM
Hi Biterider

Yes, there were several problems with the codecomplete tutorial.

Here is a new one.

KetilO

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 06, 2005, 11:12:04 AM
Hi all

New upload:

o Added support for bcet BASIC. - http://www.arargh.com/basic/index.html (http://www.arargh.com/basic/index.html)

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Petroizki on July 06, 2005, 05:24:53 PM
The comment is not hilited in the end of a include line:

(http://personal.inet.fi/atk/partsu/hilite-bug.jpg)
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Petroizki on July 07, 2005, 07:44:18 AM
It seems that i cannot open any file in RadASM trough explorer. When i double-click an asm file, RadASM opens, but informs that "Cannot open the file".
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 07, 2005, 09:53:24 AM
Thanks Petroizki

New upload.

The hilite bug (RAEdit) is not fixed yet.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Ghirai on July 07, 2005, 11:45:19 AM
I'm also having problems with the extension registration for .rap and .asm files.
When dbl-clicking on one, windows asks with what to open, even though i repeatedly select RadASM and check the "always..." box.

Running XP Pro SP2.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 07, 2005, 12:19:32 PM
Did you try Option / File Association?

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Ghirai on July 08, 2005, 10:30:03 AM
Yes. Same thing.

.asm files look like thios in the registry: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.asm\Shell\Open\Command, default REG_SZ with the value of C:\RadASM\RadASM.exe "%1".

Looks fine to me.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on July 08, 2005, 02:01:00 PM
I associated .rap and .dlg files to RadAsm (in Option-->File Association), but now cannot disable .dlg association. XP SP2.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Ghirai on July 08, 2005, 02:59:36 PM
Delete the key manually with regedit, in the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT hive.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on July 10, 2005, 08:10:37 PM
Oh, you choose the associations to remove in Option --> File Association and click the "remove" button. :red

Has anyone experienced a situation where the intellisense feature and the enter key both stop working? Perhaps it has something to do with OllyDbg being open but this has happened about five times now. Only solution seems to be restarting RadASM.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: TheoMcC on July 15, 2005, 11:32:35 AM
KetilO - I'd like to test your "bugtest" ver 2.2.0.3.  I currently have ver 2.2.0.0 installed and running (Thank you!). What's your recommended download/install procedure for this bugtest ver 2.2.0.3 so as not to disrupt previous installed version?
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 15, 2005, 02:12:26 PM
Hi TheoMcC

Install 2.2.0.2 to a new directory. Then unzip 2.2.0.3 to this new directory.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on July 18, 2005, 05:56:11 AM
Hi KetilO
I noted that in the masm.ini file, the .repeat/.until directives are missing (like .while/.wend).

I made the following changes

[CodeMacro]
;KeyWord,InsertBeforeActiveLine,InsertAfterActiveLine
;{I}=Copy indent from keyword line
;{C}=Cr
;{S}=Space
;{T}=Tab
;{$}=Copy Proc/Struct Name
;The macros are set up to assume AutoIndent on
1=.if,{T},{C}{I}.else{C}{T}{C}{I}.endif
2=.else,{T},
3=.elseif,{T},
4=.repeat,{T},{C}{I}.until
5=.while,{T},{C}{I}.endw
6=$ macro,{T},{C}{I}endm
7=$ proc,{T}{C}{I}{T},{C}{I}{T}{T}{C}{I}{T}{T}ret{C}{C}{I}{$} endp
8=$ struct,{T},{C}{I}{$} ends
9=$ struc,{T},{C}{I}{$} ends
10=Method,{T}SetObject esi{C}{I}{T},{C}{I}MethodEnd
11=Object,{T},{C}{I}ObjectEnd
12=.ifBitSet,{T},{C}{I}.else{C}{T}{C}{I}.endif
13=.ifBitClr,{T},{C}{I}.else{C}{T}{C}{I}.endif


and

[CodeBlock]
1=$ proc,? endp,,,6
2=.if,.endif,.elseif,.else,0
3=.while,.endw,.break,.continue,0
4=.repeat,.until,.break,.continue,0
5=$ struct,? ends,,,6
6=$ struc,? ends,,,6
7=$ macro,endm,,,14
8=.data,,,,16
9=.data?,,,,16
10=.const,,,,16
11=.code,,,,16
12=Method,MethodEnd,,,6
13=Object,ObjectEnd,,,4
14=BEGIN,END,,,0
15=Switch,endsw,Case,Default,0
16=;##\,;##/,,,4


in this last section I also added the .continue directive to the looping structures but I don't know if it is correct placed.

Regards,

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 18, 2005, 02:35:07 PM
Thanks Biterider

It is correct.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: ernest33 on July 19, 2005, 09:44:42 AM
Hi  :green
(version RadASM 2203g)
The new "intellisense icon" work well under XP (SP2)  :clap:, but under W2K (SP3),
the code complete listbox appear totaly blank (no icon & no text)  :snooty:.

Best regard  :U

I join a screenshot :-), hope these can help you Ketilo

Philippe


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on July 19, 2005, 04:54:57 PM
Quote from: Mark Jones on July 10, 2005, 08:10:37 PM
Has anyone experienced a situation where the intellisense feature and the enter key both stop working? Perhaps it has something to do with OllyDbg being open but this has happened about five times now. Only solution seems to be restarting RadASM.

I've also seen this happen a few times now without Olly being open. In addition, the delete key also does not respond. Am I the only one seeing this? XP SP2.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 20, 2005, 07:33:09 PM
New upload RadASM2203h.zip

o Fixed intellisense problem on 2k (ownerdrawn popup listbox on 2k/98 does not send WM_DRAWITEM to owner)

For the other problems:
- Intellisense and enter stops working.
- File changed outside radasm.

I am not able to make this happend. Any description on how this happends will help.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on July 20, 2005, 09:06:48 PM
Hi KetilO
Using the new upload (2.2.0.3h), each time you show the intelisence ListBox, a new (and empty) application button is shown in the task bar. When you close the ListBox, the button also disappears. I'm using XP/SP2.

Biterider
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 20, 2005, 10:16:25 PM
Thanks, New upload.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: lamer on July 23, 2005, 11:33:30 AM
Hi!
I can not select items in Intellisence by mouse, only by keyboard. After mouse click the very first item is selected and inserted into the code. I found it out after some annoying momemts when I thought that I selected needed structure member, but actually I did not. This appears only in the last upload.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on July 23, 2005, 03:39:46 PM
Ditto Lamer's comment.

Edit: Here's a screenshot:
(http://heliosstudios.net/temp/intellisense_thumb.png) (http://heliosstudios.net/temp/intellisense2.png)
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Biterider on July 23, 2005, 06:45:38 PM
Same problem here (XP SP2).
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 24, 2005, 02:45:41 PM
Thanks guys, new upload.
Can anyone confirm that intellisense works on 2k?

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: lamer on July 24, 2005, 08:04:52 PM
Hi!
Works on XP SP2 and on 2K SP4 (2K runs on Virtual Machine)
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: ernest33 on July 25, 2005, 07:34:20 AM
Hi  :bg
Work on 2K (SP3)  :U

Thanks Ketilo  :clap:
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: s5vi on July 25, 2005, 11:15:08 AM
Hi KetilO,
Forgive me for that noob q.....where can i dload 2203h ?
I want to test it....but i find only 2203j in your first post....10x
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 25, 2005, 02:17:11 PM
Thanks for testing on 2k

s5vi,
2203h is an old one, no need to test it.
Test the latest 2203j.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on July 26, 2005, 02:52:25 AM
When I try to do Edit --> Replace and check all boxes and select "all", "down" keeps being selected and not all source strings are found and replaced.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on July 28, 2005, 08:21:22 AM
Hi all

New upload.

o Added CodeTemplates addin. Created by drizz.
o Added keywords.txt. Processor instructions hiliting. Created by drizz.
  - Edit your assembler.ini file.
o Fixed a bug where the resource file dialog would open last dir, not current project dir.
o Added ^I (Tab) and ^M (Enter) to find dialog. Makes it possible to search for Tab and CR.
o Added custom controls include files to Masm\Inc.
o Added RadADDIN.inc to Masm\Inc. Created by drizz.
  - Makes it possible to use invoke on RadASM addin functions.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on August 18, 2005, 04:12:45 PM
Quote from: Mark Jones on July 19, 2005, 04:54:57 PM
Quote from: Mark Jones on July 10, 2005, 08:10:37 PM
Has anyone experienced a situation where the intellisense feature and the enter key both stop working? Perhaps it has something to do with OllyDbg being open but this has happened about five times now. Only solution seems to be restarting RadASM.

I've also seen this happen a few times now without Olly being open. In addition, the delete key also does not respond. Am I the only one seeing this? XP SP2.

Aaaha! I've found the culprit. This happens when I press CTRL-B. The Enter and Backspace key just stop working. To fix it, RadASM must be restarted.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on August 18, 2005, 05:53:22 PM
Hi Mark Jones

Ctrl+B enters the very usful block/column mode.
Pressing Ctrl+B again should exit the block/column mode.

Does this work for you?

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on August 18, 2005, 07:46:10 PM
Yes, of course... sigh.

What is this block/column mode supposed to do?
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on August 21, 2005, 06:37:33 PM
Hi Mark Jones

You will use column/block mode whenever you need vertical editing.
A typical use is when you want to align comments over several lines.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Mark Jones on September 02, 2005, 08:17:22 PM
Hi KetilO, I read the documentation but there is no mention of column/block or vertical editing. I can't seem to make it do anything. Is it fully implemented? Sorry for all the questions.

Small request, if a folder called "Test" is created in .\RadASM\masm\projects and you then try to create a new project called "Test", RadASM will say that the folder already exists and stop. It would be nice if it asked to overwrite. :)
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: Farabi on September 03, 2005, 11:10:05 AM
Everything is fine, work on all system of windows XP.
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: BogdanOntanu on September 04, 2005, 02:44:49 AM
It started to be very slow when loading a huge project like Hostile Encounter :(
-more than 30s on a P3/700Mhz

Same project is loaded almost instantly on version 2.1.0.8
-under 2s on the same P3/700Mhz

I have also noticed some problems when running two instances of RadASM with 2 different projects (a thing I do offten)
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on September 06, 2005, 07:53:38 AM
Hi Bogdan

I have this huge (900+ files) test project. It loads just as fast as before on my 1.6 GHz pIV.

It is difficult to give any optimalization advices without knowing your coding style.
As a general rule, unknowns are costly. Typically unknowns occure in subs (not within a scope).
If you use subs a lot then:

{Code]
Skip={C},mov

might help.
Also make:
Data={C},$ db,$ dw,$ dd,$ dq,$ df,$ dt,$ byte,$ word,$ dword,$ qword,$ real4,$ real8
as complete as possible.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: BogdanOntanu on September 06, 2005, 10:36:36 AM
Thank you for your advice,
I will try them and see what happens...

Maybe testing on a much slower CPU that P4/1.6G might show more delay
because slowdowns become suddenly much bigger on older CPU's

What are "subs" ? you mean subroutines or procedures?

Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on September 06, 2005, 12:49:00 PM
Subroutins.

KetilO
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on September 07, 2005, 08:14:40 AM
Hi Bogdan

If the problem is the amount of 'unknown', then this update should help a lot.

KetilO

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: rags on September 30, 2005, 03:40:51 PM
using radasm v 2.2.0.3d dated 9/14/05 radasm will close itself if you try opening a file in the project exploprer, by accident, that was previously opened in a tab.
example:
Open the C parser project in the addin folder.
next open the following files by double clicking on them in the project explorer:
CppParse.Asm
CppParse.Inc
CppParse.Def

Then go back and click on CppParse.Asm, and radasm closes itself.
Could this be associated with any addins enabled?

I have all addins checked EXCEPT :
AddAccel, CreateProto, CreateProtoEx, CtrlNames, e-help, InsertColor,
platsdk, Preview, ProcDump, raAscii, raBitMask, raGColor,SourceSafe, style-manager,
Version-Inc



Title: Re: RadASM 2.2.0.3 bugtest
Post by: KetilO on September 30, 2005, 11:11:41 PM
Hi rags

Yes this is probably an addin problem. I recently discowered some subclassing problems.

You can get the 2.2.0.4 bugtest here:
http://radasm.visualassembler.com/Upload/RadASM2204d.zip

KetilO