The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: Force on May 12, 2012, 09:58:30 PM

Title: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 12, 2012, 09:58:30 PM
I opened a txt file by using Shellexecute function before

and i wanna close it programatically

I wrote that project but Masm32 gives Error

"undefined symbol Process32First "

Even I could not test it if it will work or not

Is there a library mistake or did i make a mistake in that code ?
.386
.model flat, stdcall
option casemap :none   

; ###############################
include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
include \masm32\include\shell32.inc
include \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\shell32.lib
     
; ################################

    .data
           buffer db "C://windows/notepad.exe",0
           opn db "open",0                   

    .data?
StartupInfo STARTUPINFO <>
ProcessInfo PROCESS_INFORMATION <>
hSnapshot    HANDLE ?
ProcEnt      PROCESSENTRY32 <?>
    .code

start:

invoke ShellExecute,0,addr opn,addr buffer,NULL,NULL,SW_SHOWNORMAL
invoke MessageBox,0,addr opn,0,0

;######################### TERMINATE PROCESS  ##############
invoke CreateToolhelp32Snapshot, TH32CS_SNAPPROCESS,0
mov hSnapshot,eax
mov [ProcEnt.dwSize],SIZEOF ProcEnt
invoke Process32First, hSnapshot,ADDR ProcEnt
invoke lstrcmpi, ADDR buffer ,ADDR [ProcEnt.szExeFile]
invoke OpenProcess, PROCESS_TERMINATE,FALSE,[ProcEnt.th32ProcessID]
invoke TerminateProcess, eax,0




  invoke ExitProcess,NULL

end start


Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: jj2007 on May 12, 2012, 10:48:53 PM
Hi Force,

See this thread (http://www.masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=18294.msg156415#msg156415).
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 12, 2012, 11:25:09 PM
here is how it is defined in kernel32.inc (masm32 v11)

Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32First equ <Process32FirstW>
ENDIF

Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32Next equ <Process32NextW>
ENDIF


this is the post that Jochen mentioned
Quote from: -Alex- on March 14, 2012, 08:36:49 AM
For all others who have same prob like me before, here is simple solution:

Change in kernel32.inc

Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD

to

Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
Process32Next PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD

and make a new kernel32.lib or take the one from windows sdk.

that must be the old one (masm32 v10)
if you do it that way, it will break the unicode version

i would think this would be a better solution
Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32First equ <Process32FirstW>
ELSE
  Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF

Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32Next equ <Process32NextW>
ELSE
  Process32Next PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 13, 2012, 09:01:27 AM
Dave  I tried

Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32First equ <Process32FirstW>
ELSE
  Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF

Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32Next equ <Process32NextW>
ELSE
  Process32Next PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF


No error but it dsnt work

other side

Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD

to

Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
Process32Next PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD


then

error LNK2001: unresolved externalsymbol _Process32First@8
error LNK2001: unresolved externalsymbol _Process32Next@8

so  I need new kernel32.lib

Can I use masm32 sdk 10 kernel32.lib ?

Becouse i can assemle and link that code without error and it runs ( installed back masm32 sdk 10 already  :toothy )
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 12:13:27 PM
QuoteCan I use masm32 sdk 10 kernel32.lib ?

of course you can

but - i guess i would make a list of exports for both
then make a DEF file that has everything it should have
then make a new lib

or - if you are lazy, like me....
use GetProcAddress   :P
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: qWord on May 13, 2012, 12:26:33 PM
if you are lazy like Dave, you could also use the libs that comes with the Windows SDK  :dance:
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 13, 2012, 04:20:04 PM
I think I m lazy too Maybe Hutch will make new library later   :toothy
so I copied old kernel32.lib  and I changed kernel32.inc file

Now My Code is working

.386
.model flat, stdcall
option casemap :none   

; ###############################
include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
include \masm32\include\shell32.inc

includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\shell32.lib
     
; ################################

    .data
buffer db "C://windows/notepad.exe",0
opn db "open",0
kill db "Kill Process",0                   
target db"notepad.exe",0
    .data?
StartupInfo STARTUPINFO <>
ProcessInfo PROCESS_INFORMATION <>
hSnapshot    HANDLE ?
ProcEnt      PROCESSENTRY32 <?>

.code

start:

invoke ShellExecute,0,addr opn,addr buffer,NULL,NULL,SW_SHOWNORMAL
invoke MessageBox,0,addr kill,0,0

;######################### TERMINATE PROCESS  ##############
invoke CreateToolhelp32Snapshot, TH32CS_SNAPPROCESS,0
.IF (eax != INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE)
mov hSnapshot,eax
mov [ProcEnt.dwSize],SIZEOF ProcEnt
invoke Process32First, hSnapshot,ADDR ProcEnt

.IF (eax)
fix:
invoke lstrcmpi, ADDR target ,ADDR [ProcEnt.szExeFile]
.IF (eax == 0)
invoke OpenProcess, PROCESS_TERMINATE,FALSE,[ProcEnt.th32ProcessID]
.IF (eax)
invoke TerminateProcess, eax,0
.ENDIF
.ENDIF
invoke Process32Next, hSnapshot,ADDR ProcEnt
test eax,eax
jnz fix
.ENDIF
invoke CloseHandle, hSnapshot
.ENDIF
invoke ExitProcess,NULL
end start


Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: hfheatherfox07 on May 13, 2012, 06:14:49 PM
Hi there can you please include that modified .lib and .inc ?

Thank you

Nice work  :U
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 06:44:09 PM
i used Vortex's tools to create DEF files, added the 2 functions, then made LIB's
i want to post them - but they are ~1/3 the size of the ones Hutch has in masm v11
so - if Hutch or Erol pop in and explain why that is, i may post them   :P
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 13, 2012, 06:59:48 PM
Thats great Dave

do you mean you may post Libs after Hutch's permission ?
If so
hope he will allow you
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: hfheatherfox07 on May 13, 2012, 07:00:00 PM
Well Hutch might not like this but I use Universal Extractor  http://legroom.net/software/uniextract/ 

Download non install version : http://legroom.net/scripts/download.php?file=uniextract161_noinst

And extract one of the older versions of MASM and just copy the proc you need from the library before it gets assembled ....
I saw the example of setting .bmp to desktop background and I want to do one with .GIF so I need the proc that sets the desktop background and convert it to set .GIF

Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 07:08:00 PM
it's easy to do, really
Erol's tools are great   :U
http://www.vortex.masmcode.com/

i used lib2def to create DEF files from the current libraries (kernel32.lib and kernl32p.lib, masm32 v11)
then, i added the 2 missing functions into both DEF files
(by the way - they sure enough are missing - and present in the masm32 v10 LIB's)
then, i used def2lib to create 2 new libraries

the reason i am not posting is this...
the new libraries i created by this method are about one third the size of the ones Hutch has in masm32 v11
so - before i post them, i want to know if i did something wrong   :red

i am sure there is a reason for the original files being larger
let's find out what it is
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 13, 2012, 07:37:00 PM
Wooow thats good Thanks Dave
I think i can fix lib with it  :U

hfheatherfox07
I just used old masm32 v10 lib

Lib2def converter is the best way to create a library
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 07:42:08 PM
i think Hutch uses Japheth's inc2lib
and, while that may explain why the files are different - it does not explain why they are so vastly different - lol
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 13, 2012, 07:44:26 PM
now - change the include files...
Process32FirstW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32First equ <Process32FirstW>
ELSE
  Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF

Process32NextW PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32Next equ <Process32NextW>
ELSE
  Process32Next PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF

and you should be ready to rock
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 14, 2012, 03:37:22 AM
curiosity got the better of me - lol
so, i played with this some more...

as it turns out, Hutch uses his own lib tool called inc2l.exe to create the libraries
it works by using ML and LINK to create the import LIB from the INC file
when i use this IF/ELSE structure in the INC file....
IFDEF __UNICODE__
  Process32First equ <Process32FirstW>
ELSE
  Process32First PROTO STDCALL :DWORD,:DWORD
ENDIF

the inc2l program does not attempt to create an import for the symbols in the IF/ELSE
my guess is that it assumes they are all EQUates and moves on

most functions have names like SomeFuncA and SomeFuncW
the tool works ok in those cases because both may be prototyped, then an EQU can be used to select one as SomeFunc
these functions use a different naming convention, and thus, the problem arises

i am going to assume that Erol's tools create good import libraries
Hutch uses a different tool to avoid creating DEF files
which (i believe) is how older versions of the masm32 package built LIB's

as for the size of the import libraries created by inc2l.exe - ouch !   :eek
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Vortex on May 14, 2012, 05:31:35 PM
my def2lib creates short import libraries, this is why the size is smaller. MS' library manager lib.exe follows the long import library convention. Long time ago, I created an include file to import library converter ( another version of inc2lib ) but that tool's dependency was polib.exe  def2lib's work is based on MS COFF format specification and does not depend on other tools.

Microsoft PE and COFF Specification :

QuoteIn an import library with the long format, a single member contains the following information:
   Archive member header
   File header
   Section headers
   Data that corresponds to each of the section headers
   COFF symbol table
   Strings
In contrast, a short import library is written as follows:
   Archive member header   
   Import header
   Null-terminated import name string
   Null-terminated DLL name string

This is sufficient information to accurately reconstruct the entire contents of the member at the time of its use.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/windows/hardware/gg463125
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 14, 2012, 11:19:22 PM
ahhh - thanks Erol   :U

it wouldn't seem to hard to write a little program that just locates "PROTO" strings
then, uses def2lib   :P
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: Force on May 15, 2012, 05:07:38 PM
Vortex
Your tools thats in ur site are too usefull  :U
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: xandaz on May 22, 2012, 04:36:32 PM
   There seems to be yet another problem.
PROCESSENTRY32 STRUCT
    dwSize              DWORD ?
    cntUsage            DWORD ?
    th32ProcessID       DWORD ?
    th32DefaultHeapID   DWORD ?
    th32ModuleID        DWORD ?
    cntThreads          DWORD ?
    th32ParentProcessID DWORD ?
    pcPriClassBase      DWORD ?
    dwFlags             DWORD ?
    szExeFile           db MAX_PATH dup(?)
PROCESSENTRY32 ENDS


doesnt seem to work with unicode.
szExeFile dw MAX_PATH dup(?)...works tho.
    I don't know if everyone has this problem with their masm sdk...Thanks and later
Title: Re: Terminate Process
Post by: dedndave on May 22, 2012, 05:19:48 PM
yes - for unicode, szExeFile should be defined with WCHAR's - not bytes
so - the structure size would be 556 bytes