The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: ASMManiac on February 08, 2012, 10:56:14 PM

Title: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 08, 2012, 10:56:14 PM
I am trying to write a loop macro to read in a set of data into xmm registers
(I am using 64 bit assembly, so I DO have xmm0..xmm15)

FOR arg, <0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15>
        movdqu @catstr("xmm", <arg>), [rcx + (arg)*16]
    ENDM

I get the error:
error A2206:missing operator in expression


Am I calling catstr wrong?  If not, what is the macro actually expanding to?
Is there a way I can see the asm text generated by MASM post-macros?
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: qWord on February 08, 2012, 11:31:02 PM
literals must enclosed by <...> instead of "...". Your task can be solved without @CatStr:
FOR arg, <0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15>
        movdqu xmm&arg, [rcx +(arg)*16]
ENDM


For debugging macros, you can use listings: ml.exe ...  /Fllist.txt /Sn
Place the .nolist-directive at the first line of your source code. Immediately before the point of interest add .listall
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 08, 2012, 11:38:00 PM
Thank you, that worked perfectly!
Is there a way to write the loop without explicitely listing all the cases,
something like
For i=0:15
   ....
endM
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: qWord on February 08, 2012, 11:41:03 PM
cntr = 0
WHILE cntr LT 16
@CatStr(<movdqu xmm>,%cntr,<, [rcx + >,%cntr*16,<]>)
cntr = cntr + 1
ENDM
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 08, 2012, 11:54:47 PM
Also, I got an error when trying to do:
ml64.exe myAsm.asm  /Fllist.txt /Sn -> list.txt

It creates list.txt with the contents "MASM : warning A4018:invalid command-line option : -"

I added the "." commands into the file like you told me
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: qWord on February 09, 2012, 12:00:18 AM
Quoteml64.exe /Fllist.txt /Sn myAsm.asm
syr, that was ambiguous
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: dedndave on February 09, 2012, 12:01:01 AM
ml64.exe myAsm.asm  /Fllist.txt /Sn -> list.txt

ml64.exe myAsm.asm  /Fllist.txt /Sn > list.txt
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 09, 2012, 08:52:16 PM
Do you know of a way to do a similar compile-time macro in c++?
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: baltoro on February 09, 2012, 10:14:27 PM
...Oops, sorry,...nevermind,...I don't know what I'm talking about,...comment deleted,... :eek
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: qWord on February 09, 2012, 10:50:51 PM
Quote from: ASMManiac on February 09, 2012, 08:52:16 PM
Do you know of a way to do a similar compile-time macro in c++?
AFAIK it is not possible with loops, beacuse the cpp preprocessor doesn't have macro-loops. However, simply creating a macro, which hold 16 corresponding lines (movdqa ..,xmmX...) is possible.
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 10, 2012, 04:16:47 PM
I am trying out the .IF statement and running into trouble using ml64.exe

    .IF R8==16
        mov rax,5
    .ELSE
        mov rax,2
    .ENDIF


A similar question was asked here: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/zh/vclanguage/thread/3f8aa123-64ca-4623-9ebb-11aa811ee428

They concluded that the .IF was removed from ml64.  Is there another built in keyword that does similar branching?

The errors I get are:
Transpose16x16A.asm(100) : error A2008:syntax error : IF
Transpose16x16A.asm(102) : error A2008:syntax error : .
Transpose16x16A.asm(104) : error A2008:syntax error : .

Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: qWord on February 10, 2012, 04:58:04 PM
Quote from: ASMManiac on February 10, 2012, 04:16:47 PMThey concluded that the .IF was removed from ml64.  Is there another built in keyword that does similar branching?
no. Using the forum search, you maybe finder some macros that do this.
You should switch to jWasm, which has all this capacities: ml64.exe is mutilated version of ml.exe.
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: ASMManiac on February 10, 2012, 10:48:40 PM
Thanks, I will look into jWasm.
Isn't ml64 just the 64 bit version of ml, so ml wouldn't be able to compile 64 bit assembly?
Title: Re: Simple loop macro
Post by: jj2007 on February 10, 2012, 10:57:07 PM
It is, it is, but M$ decided that compilers have no need for .if ... .endif and all that, so they dropped high level language elements. Use JWasm, it's a perfect clone, much faster, too.