The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => HLA Forum => Topic started by: gedumer on May 20, 2005, 07:35:46 PM

Title: HLA commandline
Post by: gedumer on May 20, 2005, 07:35:46 PM
When I compile any of the examples, I get the following:

E:\hla\Examples>hla strdemo.hla
Assembling: strdemo.asm
LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file "e:\hla\hlalib.obj"
Error returned by link = 1181


Here is the same thing using the -v option:

E:\hla\Examples>hla strdemo.hla -v
HLA (High Level Assembler)
Released to the public domain by Randall Hyde.
Version Version 1.76 build 9933 (prototype)
Win32 COFF output
Using MASM assembler
MASM output
-test active

HLA Lib Path:     e:\hla\hlalib
HLA include path: e:\hla\include
HLA temp path:
Linker Lib Path:  e:\masm32\lib;e:\hla\hlalib

Files:
1: strdemo.hla

Compiling 'strdemo.hla' to 'strdemo.asm'
using command line [hlaparse  -v -sm -test "strdemo.hla"]
HLA (High Level Assembler) Parser
Released to the public domain by Randall Hyde.
Version Version 1.76 build 9932 (prototype)
-t active
File: strdemo.hla
Output Path: ""

Compiling "strdemo.hla" to "strdemo.asm"
Compilation complete, 169990 lines,   2.615 seconds,   65006 lines/second

Assembling "strdemo.asm" to "strdemo.obj" via [ml /c /coff /Cp /Fo"strdemo.obj"
  "strdemo.asm"]
Microsoft (R) Macro Assembler Version 6.14.8444
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1981-1997.  All rights reserved.

Assembling: strdemo.asm
Linking via [link @strdemo.link._.link]
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 5.12.8078
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1992-1998. All rights reserved.

-heap:0x1000000,0x1000000
-stack:0x1000000,0x1000000
-base:0x4000000
-entry:HLAMain
-section:.text,ER
-section:.data,RW
-section:.bss,RW
kernel32.lib
user32.lib
gdi32.lib
-subsystem:console
-out:strdemo.exe
e:\hla\hlalib
strdemo.obj
LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file "e:\hla\hlalib.obj"
Error returned by link = 1181


I am using version 1.76 on Windows XP Pro.

Help please... Gary.
Title: Re: HLA commandline
Post by: Sevag.K on May 20, 2005, 10:37:31 PM
Your hlalib environment has to point to the actual hlalib.lib file.

Add (or change) this line wherever it is you set the environment on your system:

set hlalib=e:\hla\hlalib\hlalib.lib

Title: Re: HLA commandline
Post by: gedumer on May 21, 2005, 12:02:15 AM
Thanks... that did it.