The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

General Forums => The Campus => Topic started by: white scorpion on April 19, 2005, 08:25:13 PM

Title: problem with version info
Post by: white scorpion on April 19, 2005, 08:25:13 PM
hi everyone,

i'm using the following resource file to add version info etc to my program, but somehow the Description and the Company isn't shown when you hold your mousepointer on the file, the version number is tho. The description and companyname IS shown when you go to the file properties and then the version tab.

so apparently i'm missing an entry or doing something wrong, but i can't figure out what it is :(

here's the resource entry:

1 VERSIONINFO
FILEVERSION 1,0
PRODUCTVERSION 1,0,0,0
FILEFLAGSMASK 0x0L
FILEOS 0x40004L
FILETYPE 0x1L
FILESUBTYPE 0x0L
BEGIN
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        BLOCK "040904b0"
        BEGIN
            VALUE "CompanyName", "White Scorpion Security\0"
            VALUE "FileDescription", "MY file description\0"
            VALUE "FileVersion", "1.0\0"
            VALUE "Internal Name","test\0"
            VALUE "Language","English (United States)\0",0
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "© White Scorpion Security.\0"
            VALUE "Original FileName", "test.exe\0"
            VALUE "ProductName","Something not known yet\0"
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "1.0\0"
        END
    END
END


Thanks in advance!!!!

Title: Re: problem with version info
Post by: pbrennick on April 19, 2005, 09:00:11 PM
White Scorpion,
This is a problem that I only recently realized was in some of my projects also.  Just change it to the following and you will be fine.


1 VERSIONINFO
FILEVERSION 1,0
PRODUCTVERSION 1,0,0,0
FILEFLAGSMASK 0x0L
FILEOS 0x40004L
FILETYPE 0x1L
FILESUBTYPE 0x0L
BEGIN
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        BLOCK "040904b0"
        BEGIN
            VALUE "CompanyName", "White Scorpion Security\0"
            VALUE "FileDescription", "MY file description\0"
            VALUE "FileVersion", "1.0\0"
            VALUE "Internal Name","test\0"
            VALUE "Language","English (United States)\0",0
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "© White Scorpion Security.\0"
            VALUE "Original FileName", "test.exe\0"
            VALUE "ProductName","Something not known yet\0"
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "1.0\0"
        END
    END
    BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        VALUE "Translation", 0x0409, 1200
    END
END


Paul
Title: Re: problem with version info
Post by: white scorpion on April 20, 2005, 08:27:48 PM
is that all???

where did you get that info, i couldn't find anything on the net using google :(

just simple adding
BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        VALUE "Translation", 0x0409, 1200
    END

indeed works, thanks !!!
Title: Re: problem with version info
Post by: pbrennick on April 20, 2005, 09:49:09 PM
white scorpion,
It is always a challenge to frind information on this or that.  In fact, it can drive you sane!  Anyway, in the win32.hlp file, just search for - Resource Structures.  You will see information on each resource and how it tis used.

MSDN will undoubtedly give you more information.  Sorry I couldn't give you a more difficulr solution.

Paul
Title: Re: problem with version info
Post by: white scorpion on April 21, 2005, 10:49:31 AM
QuoteSorry I couldn't give you a more difficulr solution
lol, well everything is simple if you know how to solve it, but to be honest i didn't had a clue on what to search for, but "Resource Structures" sounds like it covers it all, so i will keep it in mind when i have a problem with a resource next time :lol: