I am sorry to wear evryone out but I don't have any AMD computers here any longer. I have written a new app that loads the processor data on startup, displays either an Intel or AMD logo or a no logo if neither are present. There is a LOG button that writes a file to disk in the same directory called "result.txt" to make it easy to post the results.
It does all of the Intel tests the earlier tests did and does all of the AMD specific tests I could find in their CPUID pdf manual. It tests for SSE5, SSE4a, 3DNow, 3DNowEx, and the AMD extensions to MMX. It selects which processor brand and excludes instruction sets that are particulr to one brand so the AMD test ignores the Intel specific stuff like SSE4.1 and 4.2 while the Intel test ignores the AMD specific stuff like SSE5, SSE4a and the 3D pair.
At the risk of imposing again, anyone with any of the older or current AMD processors would be appreciated if they could post the results for them.
I have just changed the attachment, the earlier one had a mistake in the string test for the vendor string.
i know i don't have an older pentium or amd, but i ran it, anyways, Hutch
it looks good :U
i really like the logo instead of the pic of your mum :bg
there are 2 things:
1) SSE5 never was implemented and never will be
it has "evolved" into the future AVX
AVX is actually several features, defined by a half dozen or so different bits
AMD and Intel are on totally different pages with AVX - they should be named something different - lol
2) i like the result.txt file thing, but it has no heading titles: from my prescott - all the info is correct
GenuineIntel
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Available
Available
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Available
n/a - AMD Only
I have Intel Inside Logo for AuthenticAMD :lol.... I do have 3DNow however it says n/a just checking the rest....
Yep I have 3DNow Extensions also but it says n/a also MMX Extensions also n/a
SSE info is accurate
(Sempron 3100+)
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Available
Available
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Available
n/a - AMD Only
PS FYI makeit had H:/ paths for bmps in rc rather than relative paths
For a P-3 Coppermine
GenuineIntel
Pentium III Processor
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
n/a - AMD Only
n/a - AMD Only
Available
n/a - AMD Only
I have just changed the attachment, the first one had an error in the string matching code that did not recognise the AMD vendor string properly. This is just the binary to see if it works on an AMD.
I just got my brother to test it on an AMD x64 and a Sempron, the logo, Vendor string and processor ID seem to work OK but the AMD specific CPUID code does not work. Without a reliable way to test on AMD I may just ditch it as I am working in the dark here.
it's still not picking up my sempron 3D now 3d now ex or mmx ex but it is showing the AMD logo now
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Edit: er as you said :lol
Results from Hutch:
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Results from Everest:
CPU Properties:
CPU Type Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-30, 1600 MHz (8 x 200)
CPU Alias Lancaster S754
CPU Stepping SH-E5
Instruction Set x86, x86-64, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Original Clock 1600 MHz
Min / Max CPU Multiplier 4x / 8x
L1 Code Cache 64 KB (Parity)
L1 Data Cache 64 KB (ECC)
L2 Cache 1 MB (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)
CPU Physical Info:
Package Type 754 Pin uOPGA
Package Size 4.00 cm x 4.00 cm
Transistors 114 million
Process Technology 9Mi, 90 nm, CMOS, Cu, SOI
Die Size 112.9 mm2
Core Voltage 1.000 - 1.500 V
I/O Voltage 1.2 V + 2.5 V
Maximum Power 35 W
CPU Manufacturer:
Company Name Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Product Information http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118,00.html
CPU Utilization:
CPU #1 0 %
Probably not a great deal of use to you Hutch, but this is the AMD CPUID program. The earlier version shows all values and their meanings, i haven't looked at the newer ones, i just found them:
_http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/amdcpuid.exe
_http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/CPUInfoVersion2.1.1.zip
_http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/CPUInfo_2.2.0.zip
HR,
Ghandi
I just wanted to thank everyone who tested these test pieces, the problem is I don't own an AMD box to test on and their CPUID PDF file did not appear to have accurate information so I have abandoned doing the AMD tests for the moment.
The intel tests do the original job of determining if SSE 1/2/3/4.1/2 were available. perhaps one day if I own an AMD I will try to test their version of CPUID again.
from what i could see, the amd documentation is in much better shape than the intel docs
amd docs are also a little better organized - not as pretty, though :P
of course, amd has not made anywhere near as many different chips as intel
EDIT - i might add....
the intel program examples and programs are for intel chips only
the amd program examples and programs are for amd chips only
which pretty much makes them all totally useless
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (NewCastle)
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Not Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
From CPUID CPU-Z
Processors Information
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 1 (max 1)
Number of threads 1 (max 1)
Name AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Codename NewCastle
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Package Socket 939
CPUID F.F.0
Extended CPUID F.F
Brand ID 4
Core Stepping DH7-CG
Technology 0.13 um
Core Speed 1994.3 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 10.0 x 199.4 MHz
HT Link speed 997.1 MHz
Stock frequency 2000 MHz
Instructions sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, x86-64
L1 Data cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 512 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
Max FID 10.0x
P-State FID 0x2 - VID 0x10 (5.0x - 1.150 V)
P-State FID 0xA - VID 0x06 (9.0x - 1.400 V)
P-State FID 0xC - VID 0x02 (10.0x - 1.500 V)
K8 Thermal sensor yes
K8 Revision ID 0.6
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 0
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 1
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 2
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 3
Thread dumps
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU Thread 0
APIC ID 0
Topology Processor ID 0, Core ID 0, Thread ID 0
Type 02002001h
Max CPUID level 00000001h
Max CPUID ext. level 80000018h
Cache descriptor Level 1, I, 64 KB, 1 thread(s)
Cache descriptor Level 1, D, 64 KB, 1 thread(s)
Cache descriptor Level 2, U, 512 KB, 1 thread(s)
CPUID
0x00000000 0x00000001 0x68747541 0x444D4163 0x69746E65
0x00000001 0x00000FF0 0x00000800 0x00000000 0x078BFBFF
0x80000000 0x80000018 0x68747541 0x444D4163 0x69746E65
0x80000001 0x00000FF0 0x0000010A 0x00000000 0xE1D3FBFF
0x80000002 0x20444D41 0x6C687441 0x74286E6F 0x3620296D
0x80000003 0x72502034 0x7365636F 0x20726F73 0x30303233
0x80000004 0x0000002B 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000005 0xFF08FF08 0xFF20FF20 0x40020140 0x40020140
0x80000006 0x00000000 0x42004200 0x02008140 0x00000000
0x80000007 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x0000000F
0x80000008 0x00003028 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000009 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000A 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000B 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000C 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000D 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000E 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x8000000F 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000010 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000011 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000012 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000013 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000014 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000015 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000016 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000017 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
0x80000018 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
MSR 0x0000001B 0x00000000 0xFEE00900
MSR 0xC001001E 0x00000000 0x00000006
MSR 0xC0010015 0x00000000 0x0C000000
MSR 0xC0010042 0x00000202 0x000C0C0C
MSR 0xC0010041 0x00000001 0x0000020C
Hi hutch:
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Regards herge
Hi,
AMD rules ! :8) :bg :U
Here's the result for my AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE
AuthenticAMD
Cannot Identify x86 Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Regards
Greenhorn
The test app I posted here that tried to handle the AMD as well as Intel data is broken and I don't have an AMD box to develop that code with so I have given up on it for the moment. The Intel specific version works correctly as I have enough Intel boxes from PIVs to i7 to test results on.
Hutch,
Here is my result from my AMD. It is a 64 bit dual core but running 32 bit mode (XP) so the 3DNow instructions are not available:
AuthenticAMD
i486 or early Pentium Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Dave.
AuthenticAMD
Cannot Identify x86 Processor
Not Available
Not Available
n/a - INTEL Only
n/a - INTEL Only
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
This is an AMD Phenom II x6 1055T "Thuban"
The specs taken from the Phenom II tech sheet:
Including support for SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4a, ABM, MMX, 3DNow! technology and legacy x86
The Advanced Bit Manipulation (ABM) was introduced with K10 and consists of 2 instructions:
POPCNT - counts the number of bits set in a word.
LZCNT - counts the number of leading zero bits in a word.
Your program says SSE4a is not available, and maybe it isn't.. but the technical specs say that it is. Havent tried them.
Quote from: KeepingRealBusy on June 19, 2010, 03:59:48 AM
but running 32 bit mode (XP) so the 3DNow instructions are not available
??? 3DNow should work fine in 32-bit mode. It came out at a time when Intel was still dreaming of SSE.
Quote from: Rockoon on June 19, 2010, 12:06:39 PM
The Advanced Bit Manipulation (ABM) was introduced with K10 and consists of 2 instructions:
POPCNT - counts the number of bits set in a word.
LZCNT - counts the number of leading zero bits in a word.
In case somebody is confused about the "word": popcnt is also available on Intel, and not limited to a word:
QuotePOPCNT r16, r/m16
POPCNT r32, r/m32
POPCNT r64, r/m64 (64-bit mode)
http://software.intel.com/file/17971/
Re LZCNT, does that anything different than bsf?
Quote from: jj2007 on June 19, 2010, 12:26:41 PM
Re LZCNT, does that anything different than bsf?
I'm pretty sure that they are functionally different in the degenerate case, where the operand is 0.
Oh, and I think you mean BSR, not BSF.
The latencies are quite different as well. On AMD the LZCNT is supposedly 2 cycles, whereas BSR is still a vector path with 6 cycles of latency.
edit: woops, it doesnt work on xmm regs
Quote from: Rockoon on June 19, 2010, 01:00:08 PM
Quote from: jj2007 on June 19, 2010, 12:26:41 PM
Re LZCNT, does that anything different than bsf?
I'm pretty sure that they are functionally different in the degenerate case, where the operand is 0.
Most probably yes (I can't test it). BSF/BSR set the zero flag for the null operand, which is certainly not the best solution.
Quote
Oh, and I think you mean BSR, not BSF.
:U
Quote from: Rockoon on June 19, 2010, 12:17:11 PM
Quote from: KeepingRealBusy on June 19, 2010, 03:59:48 AM
but running 32 bit mode (XP) so the 3DNow instructions are not available
??? 3DNow should work fine in 32-bit mode. It came out at a time when Intel was still dreaming of SSE.
You are absolutely correct, I misread the PDF.
Dave.